We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Fitted Oak Kitchen
Kitchen with electric range, washing machine, dishwasher and full size fridge freezer
Kitchen with seating for six
Bathroom
Main Bedroom
View from the bedroom
King size bed
Main Bedroom
Twin Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
Meet the neighbours!
Beyond the garden
Barbeque area
Garden in flower
Lounge in the sun
The garden
Our local picnic area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lassay-les-Chateaux, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BazandHel
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dougebert Farmhouse was exactly how I imagined a French country cottage to be. It was rustic and really charming. Everything was catered for in this cottage. The surrounding country side and villages were just beautiful. Paul and Yvonne are just the most wonderful hosts. They made use feel so welcome, nothing was to much trouble. We visited in the early summer but imagine the winter with the lovely log burner would be so cozy. Will always have fond memories of our stay ,Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our wonderful hosts Paul and Yvonne
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
You came a long way to see France and we are pleased your holiday was everything you expected and wanted it to be. We really enjoyed having you both stay at the Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRIS B
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idylic, Frence holiday retreat.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The farmhouse is rustic, full of character and charm, with all the mod cons included to keep two teenagers content. You can just happily relax in house/garden, as we did for a couple of days or visit the many local towns/villages. (Ferte-mace has a great market, Bagnoles is a spa town etc) Yvonne and Paul were a great help in advising of the many places to visit and activities in the area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
I think the wifi and sun loungers clinched it for the teenage girls. Glad you managed to get your day cycling. Great having you all stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay at the cottage. The property and surrounding area far exceeded our expectations. The cottage has a lovely location, being rural but not too remote (supermarkets and shops nearby). Having the very welcoming owners, Yvonne & Paul, living close by (next door!) for any help and advice was reassuring.

The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard. It is very well appointed and offers the size and modern conveniences (incl. wifi) that are often missing in holiday let properties. It offers a home from home experience. Highlights for us were the gorgeous lounge, large kitchen and delightful window in the master bedroom, offering views of the cows in the surrounding fields.

We chose the cottage due to its central position for exploring the Normandy, Brittany and Loire regions. During our stay we visited Mont St Michel, St Malo, Honfleur & Normany coast and Rennes. All are within 1 - 2 hour drive. However, as we discovered during our stay, there is so much to do locally, that we could easily have spent the whole time in the Mayenne region and still only scratched the surface. A perfect excuse to return!

The cottage is a hidden gem in a largely unknown region of France. It is perfect as a base for the wider area, to explore locally or just to relax and do nothing. You will not want for anything in terms of facilities. We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage and look forward to our next visit. Yvonne & Paul have got things spot on with the cottage and we wish them every success.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2014
Great to have you both stay at the Farmhouse and we are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked very last minute, but could not believe our luck when we arrived at the Dougebert Farmhouse. Yvonne and Paul, the owners could not have been more helpful or welcoming. The small village and nearby surrounding areas are absolutely beautiful and unspoilt, but with enough conveniences (like the local shops, handful of restaurants and excellent hypermarket) to make the stay very easy.
The house itself is delightful, really well appointed and spotlessly clean, a true rural idyll with sweeping views and a very peaceful, relaxing garden.
We had three children to entertain (aged 7-11) and enjoyed the amazing local cycling network, along with trying out the 'Velo Rail', kayaking, the bateaux electrique in Mayenne, caves at Saulges, the 'Go Ape' style treetop walks in the picturesque nearby town of Bagnoles de L'Orne and the local Chateau in Lassay.
Our only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer, but we will certainly be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and could take home with you some lovely memories. We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was perfect!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
We certainly don't like "losing" our visitors whether by sat nav or other reason, especially this family who were our very first guests and a delight to have stay. We are pleased you all enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing