We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely base for exploring Kirkwall and further”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Smiddy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Welcome to The Smiddy
Family room on suite with bath and level access shower
Family room on suite level access shower
Our upstairs twin room this room can be changed into a king size room as the beds link together
Our upstairs bedroom
Our living room
Living room with sofa bed
Living room
Juke box !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul G
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely base for exploring Kirkwall and further”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a great ten-day stay. Arrangements were easily made, the facilities were excellent, and The Smiddy is in a great location - two minutes' walk from the centre of Kirkwall, and with a car you can get to anywhere on the Mainland very easily.

The Smiddy was spotlessly clean, and mid-stay our linen and towels were changed and a light clean was performed. The under-floor heating downstairs makes it a wonderfully warm house to return to of an evening, even if the weather outside isn't too proving too cheerful that day.

We had a great stay in Orkney, and although we had the odd wet day, we had many days of blue skies and bright sunshine. And we found that Orkney has plenty to do - from lots of Neolithic locations, through all the history associated with Scapa Flow from the two world wars, all the spectacular geology, great museums, and lovely towns like Kirkwall and Stromness.

Many thanks for providing such a great base for a wonderful holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay we were delighted to have you and hope to see you again all the best Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Smiddy, Mill Street Kirkwall”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed in the smiddy for a long weekend with a group in April 2017.

The accommodation is fantastic, clean and very spacious for a group travelling.

House is located a 2 min walk to the Main Street making it very well located to nearby shops, restaurants and pubs.

Christine was fabulous from the moment we booked the accommodation.
Offering us any assistance we needed along the way and allowed for a later check out to accommodate our later flight home.

I will be returning to stay again in the future and would highly recommended to friends and others visiting Kirkwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you Sean you are most welcome and we look froward to seeing you again Regards Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern conveniences with the heartfelt warmth and history of Orkney!!!!!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Warm and cozy cottage with expansive open beam ceiling. Kitchen, baths, and laundry room are spacious and modern--very clean! There was even a decorated Christmas tree upon our arrival! The quaint downtown is only a short walking distance. I love it, and intend to return.

p.s. If Christina happens to find my sweater and scarf which I forgot, please mail to me, and I will reimburse postage.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you Patrica I have your scarf here but no sweater if you send me your address i will forward it on to you Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Smiddy”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is one of the best I gave stayed at and everything was catered for. Very close to the town. I would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bconnjr
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend The Smiddy”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We are very glad we stayed at The Smiddy. It is so close to things in downtown Kirkwall. Six of us fitted in very comfortably and it has a most attractive interior. A major plus is that it gives you a place to hang out when not out sightseeing, a place to have a leisurely breakfast, a place to have a drink or two before going out to dinner, or a bottle of wine after dinner, etc. Of course, you can cook your own dinner if you want to. And so much cheaper than a hotel. Chris provided us with a generous lot of goodies that we enjoyed. Thanks, Chris.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review BConn I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Smiddy it was nice having you to stay, hope to see you again Regards Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay quiet, close to shopping and the main street, very clean a joy to stay in and will go back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your review I am delighted you enjoyed The Smiddy and we hope to see you again regards Christine and Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S
1 review
“A cozy holiday home in the center of Kirkwall”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very nice house. Modern and comfortable. Three bathrooms was perfect. Even got a wonderful edible surprise when moving in. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you Chrisitne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing