We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, cosy little apartment right in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Elska Apartment

Cosy Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Living Room
Bedroom Back Garden / Patio area with BBQ and bench. South facing sun trap!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cosy Living Room
Bedroom
Back Garden / Patio area with BBQ and bench. South facing sun trap!
Front of Building - shows proximity to min street in Kirkwall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rhonagill...
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous, cosy little apartment right in the centre of town.”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I were in Orkney for a week and were delighted to find this little gem of an apartment. It has everything you need for a couple - and there is a fold down couch in the living room if you need it. It was very clean and well appointed with good wifi. Upstairs was a comfortable bedroom and shower room and downstairs was an open plan sitting and dining area and a small kitchen. We were extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. There was even an outside paved area at the back should you wish. Extremely handy for exploring Kirkwall and a good base for exploring further afield. Orkney has so much to see and do and the people are extremely friendly. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back. Be aware - the shower is not good due to poor water pressure but Sam made us aware of that and it didn't bother us. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Kirkwall at Elska Apartment. We would love to welcome you back to stay again. We can only apologies for the inconvenience caused by the poor pressure on the shower and can assure you it is our priority to rectify this issue as soon as possible. We have a new system being installed next week so hopefully this will solve the issue. It is great to receive useful criticism as we can then strive to improve our service which we pride ourselves on. Many thanks again for the kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed the stay. Wonderful guests we would love to see stay with us again. Sam and Emma Elska Apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobneish
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good indeed”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely flat very centrally located in Kirkwall so no need to drive to most restaurants, bars etc.
We stayed almost a week and the weather was freezing but the flat was cosy and welcoming when coming in from the snow.
Everything within the property was clean and well equipped with a very fast wi-fi in situ which was much appreciated.
Would return with little hesitation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We would love to welcome you back to Elska Apartment should you ever choose to return to Orkney.

Many Thanks
Sam and Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for almost a fortnight, and really fell in love with the place.
All of Orkney is great, Kirkwall in particular, and being right in the heart of the town is ideal. The house is lovely, very cosy and with everything you need to make it home from home. So much to do right on the doorstep.
We are trying to organise our next break from work, and hope to be back north as soon as we can!
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is great
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. Will look forward to seeing you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for a week's holiday at the end of September, extremely well situated just a few minutes walk away from the bus station and ferry terminal. The main street with shops and the local Co-op is just around the corner. Very well decorated and maintained with plenty of extra special touches such as games, books, cosy blanket and a welcome basket! Thank you to Emma and Sam for the hospitality, we would highly recommend this apartment and we would certainly chose to stay here again if we return to Orkney in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
We are really pleased we could provide you with a pleasurable stay in Elska Apartment and you enjoyed your trip to Orkney!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puneet S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place in the center of town”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We needed a place for 2 nights and fortunately they had availability, and booked for us even when they generally do not book for less than 3 nights. Place was very central, walking distance to everywhere. Place itself was clean and welcoming. The kitchen had everything you needed for a short stay. Totally worth the money.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Elska Apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinec...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little house right in the town centre.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic week in Orkney and were really pleased with the Elska apartment. It's situated in a quiet side road just a few yards from the main shopping street. It was great to have the shops, restaurants and pubs just around the corner. We found it convenient and comfortable, and would recommend it to anyone wanting a base from which to explore these beautiful islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the town
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italofran...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, practical base for seeing Orkney”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled from Edinburgh and didn't arrive until about 10pm. Despite our late arrival, Emma was there to greet us, show us round the property and thoughtfully, had also turned on an extra heater to make the apartment nice and cosy for our arrival. As well as this, she had also bought us a pint of milk and left a basket of Orkney goodies including fudge and oatcakes. This is always a nice touch and was much appreciated.

The apartment is in the centre of Kirkwall and has all that you need nearby; supermarkets, cafes, restaurants and gift shops.

The apartment itself is clean and practical. There is a double bedroom with a huge wardrobe. The bed itself could probably do with a new mattress but this is a minor complaint. Being in Orkney in the summer, I would have liked black-out curtains, but again, this is something minor that did not detract from our positive experience.

The living room is a good size and Emma has furnished it with books and games and a variety of leaflets for tourists to Orkney, There is wifi which is something which we welcomed as unfortunately the TV was not working properly - Emma informed us of this on our arrival and was very apologetic.

The sofa is a sofa bed and as such is not the most comfortable place to sit and relax at night. Most of our time was spent out and about so this wasn't a major issue for us.

The apartment is listed as sleeping up to four. I would say that it's best suited to two people.

We really enjoyed our stay on Orkney and the people we met. Emma was lovely and we would happily stay at her property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
First of all thank you very much for taking your time to post this review. We are glad you enjoyed your time visiting Orkney and staying at Elska Apartment.

With this being our first year in this business we are delighted to accept suggestions and are glad to inform you that all your suggestions will be top of our priority list.

Again thank you so much for your kind words and very useful suggestions for us to better the Apartment.

We would love to welcome you back to Elska Apartment and hope you will choose to stay again if you decide to visit Orkney again!

Sam and Emma
Elska Apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing