We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find”
Review of The Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shore
Ranked #10 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We usually try to avoid going to hotels just for food as on most occasions it is rather over priced for what you get.
We've been fairly hungry and this was the first place we've seen, so we went.
The Shore is surprisingly different, very good food and reasonably priced.
The place was really full and we called in with no reservation, so we weren't expecting being served. Not a problem for them, they squeezed us into a corner, taken our order, and shortly after we had a pleasant meal. Great fish and chips actually.
It is a rather quiet and cosy place, the staff is very friendly, the menu offers a good choice.
Cannot fault the place and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your "lucky find". We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, service and ambience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was swithering between average and very good but the staff and owner swung it to VG. We had reasonable rooms although the step between bathroom and bedroom required some caution as it was not highlighted. We ate in restaurant on two nights food was good except for a small piece of plastic that appeared in one dish we pointed it out to staff but there was no feed back. Steak pie was excellent and wine reasonable (Rose was good). Excellent central location but nae view!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your weekend stay at the Ferry Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A group of us, 4 adults and 5 children, on bikes ate our breakfast before catching the ferry at this hotel restaurant. We were shocked that the hotel is prepared to charge £8.50 for any version of a cooked breakfast, even if it was just scrambled egg on toast. And an additional cost for a hot chocolate.The quality of the breakfast was very poor and although these prices may be in fact to deter people off the street like us, it left us with a feeling of being completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

I would like to reply to this reviewer with some facts about our breakfast offer. We welcome visitors who are just looking to eat breakfast with us. For £8.95 we offer cereal, fruit juice, fruit, full cooked breakfast, toast, tea/coffee .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Last Sunday night my wife and I enjoyed a lovely meal in the Shore. We had not booked but were lucky to secure the last two places.

The service was good, although the staff seemed a bit under pressure, he choice wide, the cost reasonable and the food well cooked. Who could ask for more.

An enjoyable outing and an establishment which deserves a high recommendation.

Room Tip: We didn't use any other service than the restaurant hence the blank spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gallipoli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello

We are really pleased that you got the last two seats in the restaurant last Sunday night and that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thanks for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had an overnight stay at the Shore,the room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.We had a meal in the restaurant at night and the food was excellent and well presented,the staff were top class and very efficient.The breakfast in the morning was very good and set us up for the day,so if you want a QUALITY hotel with QUALITY food and QUALITY staff all at a QUALITY price try the Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your amazing review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. Nice that you came to Kirkwall for a wee change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If your room is above the bar, you can forget sleeping before midnight. The noise is horrendous even during weeknights. The bar closes at midnight but the music starts again at quarter to 8 in the morning, even on a week morning. Avoid room 18 unless you are a party animal.
Rooms are basic. If you expect a nice comfy bed with lush pillows, this may not be your place. Though bath robes were a nice surprise.
Breakfast is very tasty, especially the smoked haddock and poached egg. Staff is overall very friendly.
Hotel well located in the city center. Hotel has no car park, so you need to leave your vehicle in the public parking slots pretty much opposite the hotel.
The Highland Park distillery is approx half an hour walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piiku99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review of room 18. It is above the bar. We have invested in additional sound proofing of this room and is usually the last room that we sell as we offer all of our quieter rooms first. The room looks on to the harbour so has sea views. New pillows and duvets have been put into this room just a month ago. We will soon have 5 new rooms available at The Shore, rooms 31, 32, 33, 34 and 35 will all be totally new and and the opposite end of the hotel from the bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Shore Hotel for four nights and had mixed feelings about the Hotel in general. It was sold to us as a Boutique hotel and our Room 12 failed in every respect in terms of size,cleanliness and comfort.
The en suite facilities were very basic and the distinct lack of storage space meant we were unable to unpack our cases.
We enjoyed our Breakfasts generally apart from one occasion when our Smoked Haddock was not properly cooked.
In view of the above comments we feel the hotel is grossly overpriced for what it has to offer.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Room 12 is one of our smaller twin rooms with a small ensuite.. For guests wishing to stay with us in the future who are looking for a larger room. larger ensuite, more storage space and with sea views ask for rooms 14 and 15. Rooms 23 and 24 are also twin rooms with sea views and newly fitted bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
161 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore

Address: Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: £83 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore Inn the perfect stay overlooking the harbour in Orkney Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing