We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shore
Ranked #9 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a really good bar meal here while staying in Kirkwall for a couple of nights .
Very tasty and value for money .
Busy pub and didn't have to wait long.
Good atmosphere with friendly staff.
Really enjoyed and recommend .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TonyDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a couple of nights at this hotel earlier this year - great location on Orkney. Also food in restaurant well above average. Certainly recommend it. Staff very pleasant & helpful. Street parking not a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at The Shore. It is good to hear that you rated your meals do highly and that the room was very much to your pleasing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've known The Shore over may years with many owners and many guises, but at the moment it is spot on, late check in was no problem, and then we overslept and a late breakfast was no problem, when it arrived the table was groaning under the weight of it, no need to eat all day after that one!!, thanks guys a great one night stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks for your great review. It is nice to hear that your are a returning guest and that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. We are soon to introduce five brand new rooms so we hope that you will be able to come back to see us again to soon to experience the next transformation at The Shore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We usually try to avoid going to hotels just for food as on most occasions it is rather over priced for what you get.
We've been fairly hungry and this was the first place we've seen, so we went.
The Shore is surprisingly different, very good food and reasonably priced.
The place was really full and we called in with no reservation, so we weren't expecting being served. Not a problem for them, they squeezed us into a corner, taken our order, and shortly after we had a pleasant meal. Great fish and chips actually.
It is a rather quiet and cosy place, the staff is very friendly, the menu offers a good choice.
Cannot fault the place and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your "lucky find". We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, service and ambience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was swithering between average and very good but the staff and owner swung it to VG. We had reasonable rooms although the step between bathroom and bedroom required some caution as it was not highlighted. We ate in restaurant on two nights food was good except for a small piece of plastic that appeared in one dish we pointed it out to staff but there was no feed back. Steak pie was excellent and wine reasonable (Rose was good). Excellent central location but nae view!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your weekend stay at the Ferry Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A group of us, 4 adults and 5 children, on bikes ate our breakfast before catching the ferry at this hotel restaurant. We were shocked that the hotel is prepared to charge £8.50 for any version of a cooked breakfast, even if it was just scrambled egg on toast. And an additional cost for a hot chocolate.The quality of the breakfast was very poor and although these prices may be in fact to deter people off the street like us, it left us with a feeling of being completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

I would like to reply to this reviewer with some facts about our breakfast offer. We welcome visitors who are just looking to eat breakfast with us. For £8.95 we offer cereal, fruit juice, fruit, full cooked breakfast, toast, tea/coffee .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Last Sunday night my wife and I enjoyed a lovely meal in the Shore. We had not booked but were lucky to secure the last two places.

The service was good, although the staff seemed a bit under pressure, he choice wide, the cost reasonable and the food well cooked. Who could ask for more.

An enjoyable outing and an establishment which deserves a high recommendation.

Room Tip: We didn't use any other service than the restaurant hence the blank spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gallipoli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello

We are really pleased that you got the last two seats in the restaurant last Sunday night and that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thanks for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
161 reviews
1 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore

Address: Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore Inn the perfect stay overlooking the harbour in Orkney Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing