We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shore
Ranked #10 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The rooms are really nice, well presented and spacious with plenty of plugs and good quality bathrooms. Room 15 is really quite noisy in the night though (water pump?) so bring ear plugs. I was very impressed with the standard of the rooms as I was expecting bad things, based on the the check-in desk and corridors. Breakfast was very good (full scottish with haggis and black pudding). Beer is a tad expensive (£3.95 for local bottled ales available for £1.95 from the local Tesco). I didn't eat dinner here so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uhambo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review of room 15. It has recently been totally refurbished so we are glad that it was to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    56
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
77
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We used The Shore as a one night stay at the start of our holiday. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and well presented. Felt welcomed and very much at ease. Really very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the front over looking the harbour. They have the potential for street noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenwoodconsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Hotel was exactly,what we wanted:Location opposite the harbour,good centre to start some tours on the Orkney islands,very good kitchen indeed, crowded but pleasent bar,very friendly statt
(maybe except one not very slim young lady in the reception), small but comfortable room
(a bit difficult to reach, if you are in the upper/upper floor with suitcases),breakfast with everytrhing you can imagine and of course very good single malts.
WiFi available, but working even better outdoors than in the room and last not least:Some tables outdoors for the (dam)remaining smokers,who want to have an enjoyable drink or coffee in company of a cigarette.
Fur us and our friends the house was perfect-I doubt whether we will come again to the orkney´s,but anyhow:we shall recommend The Shore to all of our friends.

Room Tip: If you got heavy suitcases dont choose the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a really good bar meal here while staying in Kirkwall for a couple of nights .
Very tasty and value for money .
Busy pub and didn't have to wait long.
Good atmosphere with friendly staff.
Really enjoyed and recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a couple of nights at this hotel earlier this year - great location on Orkney. Also food in restaurant well above average. Certainly recommend it. Staff very pleasant & helpful. Street parking not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at The Shore. It is good to hear that you rated your meals do highly and that the room was very much to your pleasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've known The Shore over may years with many owners and many guises, but at the moment it is spot on, late check in was no problem, and then we overslept and a late breakfast was no problem, when it arrived the table was groaning under the weight of it, no need to eat all day after that one!!, thanks guys a great one night stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your great review. It is nice to hear that your are a returning guest and that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. We are soon to introduce five brand new rooms so we hope that you will be able to come back to see us again to soon to experience the next transformation at The Shore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We usually try to avoid going to hotels just for food as on most occasions it is rather over priced for what you get.
We've been fairly hungry and this was the first place we've seen, so we went.
The Shore is surprisingly different, very good food and reasonably priced.
The place was really full and we called in with no reservation, so we weren't expecting being served. Not a problem for them, they squeezed us into a corner, taken our order, and shortly after we had a pleasant meal. Great fish and chips actually.
It is a rather quiet and cosy place, the staff is very friendly, the menu offers a good choice.
Cannot fault the place and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your "lucky find". We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, service and ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore

Property: The Shore
Address: Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore Inn the perfect stay overlooking the harbour in Orkney Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing