We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hildeval Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A very warm welcome.

Lovely room - number 2. Spotlessly clean en suite. Well equipped with hairdryer, ironing board etc.

Nothing too much trouble. We wanted to arrive early because after a week of perfect weather it started raining and that was not a problem even though only 1pm.

Breakfast delicious and freshly cooked - they have a previous evening order system which I like. Only 10 minutes easy paced walk to town.

Lovely views from the breakfast room.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I only saw room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebell1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
64
16
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Left this B&B only yesterday, 1.6.14 after a week long stay and already wishing we were still there. The standard of accommodation, good food and friendliness of our hosts, including zara the dog enhanced our entire Orkney experience. Nothing was too much trouble - just as an excellent B&B should be.

Room Tip: Make sure any special requirements you have are clear;- your prospective hosts will try to accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here in June 2011 enjoying the beautiful Orkney islands.

The house was beautiful either in the outside as in the inside and the room was simply amazing.

The window in the room was huge and you can see the sea and the sunset, simply wonderful.

Totally recommended

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ethervoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on business and I must say I wish I was staying longer! Arrived to a friendly owner/manager who showed me to my room and helped me out with a map of Kirkwall which allowed me to find restaurants and business meeting locations. The room was great was a modern ,clean and tidy bathroom.

Breakfast in the morning was great with a friendly lad serving and engaging in chat about the local area plus recommending places to visit. The breakfast room has a great view of the island and really does motivate you to get out and explore. Great B&B, will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We travelled to Kirkwall for business purposes travelling by car. We arrived in the dark to find Hildeval easily and well lit up with adequate parking. Our room was ideal with everything finished to a high standard, good quality white linen bedding and all spotlessly clean. The en suite WC/shower room was modern and spacious. The towels were lovely too. The TV was good with the option of borrowing from a wide selection of DVDs had we wanted to do so. By morning we went upstairs to the large breakfast room with its big picture window overlooking the sea access to Kirkwall harbour. The breakfast selection and quality was of a very high standard and the full cooked breakfast beautifully presented and tasty. Wifi access was good considering the difficulties Orkney can have with phone signals and wifi... With the stairs to get to breakfast room someone with limited mobility may find this is a challenge. The owners are friendly and helpful without being overly intrusive. We loved being there even in the poor weather but would need a lot of self control to say no to the cooked breakfasts if we stayed any longer...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Travelling to Kirkwall on business, I booked into a a B&B that looked on the map to be convenient for the places I needed to visit. The reviews I checked out before travalling promised that it would be a good place to stay.
Well Hildeval lived up to the promises. The warm, friendly welcome, good room, great breakfasts. It was a comfortable walk from the centre of Kirkwall, so long as you don't mind the walk being up hill. I managed it (with a suitcase) having taken the bus from the airport into Kirkwall. ( I have to admit, on day 2 I hired a car).
Hildeval was an excellent base from which to explore mainland Orkney, by car it is only 10 or 15 minutes from the airport, and only 5 minutes from the harbour.
The only minor niggle was that the phone signal in my room was patchy on O2 and non-existant on Vodaphone. Mind you, I stepped out of the front door and took a gentle stroll when I wanted to phone home. I suspect coverage elsewhere in the building could be better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartP926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macklin SK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were fortunate to find the Hindeval B and B in Kirkwall in May 2013. We found the ensuite room clean, modern and well furnished. We would not hesitate to recommend this B and B.
We would have loved to have a visit with this lovely couple but we only had the one night in our schedule. We will certainly book here again if we ever get the opportunity to stay in Kirkall again.
Jim and Mary Beth from Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#1 of 26 in Kirkwall
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildeval Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildeval Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hildeval Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hildeval Easthill, Kirkwall KW15 1LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hildeval - 4 Star Bed and Breakfast Accommodation set in picturesque Kirkwall, only a short walk from Orkney College and the town centre. All of our rooms are en suite, with flat screen tv/radio/dvd, wifi access, hair dryer, steam iron and ironing board. Breakfast is served in the dining area which has stunning views of Kirkwall bay and Orkney's North Isles. At Hildeval Bed and Breakfast, we try our best to go the extra mile to make your stay at our guest house a pleasant and memorable one. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hildeval Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hildeval Bed & Breakfast Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing