We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of 2 Dundas Crescent

2 Dundas Crescent
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
2 Dundas Crescent
Ranked #12 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The location is great, the house is beautiful, and the room was very clean. The owners were very friendly and very helpful as well. Breakfast was included and it was delicious! If visiting Kirkwall, I highly recommend checking out Orkney Uncovered for a private tour of the mainland. You will be amazed by what you'll uncover.

Room Tip: I had a room with ensuite toilet and shower, over looking the front yard. A little cold in March, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_tuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
inverness, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just back from staying here for two nights for my son's graduation. Ideally located for the ceremony at the Cathedral and town. We had the two double rooms at the front of the house and were surprised at how big they were and my husband adored the claw bath in our room which was a luxury we did not expect!! Breakfast was good and both Ruth and Edgar were lovely and provided a light breakfast when we had to leave early for the ferry. Added bonus was that when the saturday morning ferry was cancelled we were allowed access back to our rooms to chill out until heading back to St Margaret's Hope a few hours later - thanks again Ruth for this. We would love to go back to Orkney again soon and would be happy to go back to 2 Dundas Crescent.

Room Tip: double room at the front has claw bath and shower - beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legoland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We've been at this B&B for two nights and I've really liked the atmosphere.
It's a 4minutes walk away from kirkwall center (the cathedral) and all the restaurants.

We were staying in the twin beds room and it was really spacious, with 3 big windows and a sofa. Tv and wi-fi set that are a bit old, but fully working.
The bathroom was new and big, loved the shower and how clean it was.

Breakfast is amazing and served in a beautiful dining room with a nice atmosphere.

Cherry on the top? Edgar and Ruth. They're amazing, cheerfull and caring.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, IN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed at 2 Dundas Crescent on assignment for a radio station. It was a short walk away from town center, restaurants, sites, and shopping. My room was comfortable and neat, the bathroom was newly renovated and spotless, and the breakfast was delicious.

2 Dundas is a former Manse with high ceilings, beautiful tall windows, and great views of the surrounding garden. My room had a king sized bed, and the dining room was beautiful.

The TV and internet were a bit dodgy, but nothing a quick fix couldn't handle. Plus, why would you want to be in watching TV when there's more Orkney to explore?

Room Tip: I had the first bedroom upstairs on the left. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

A beautiful old house in the middle of Kirkwall
Ruth and Edgar Muir were excellent hosts and the rooms and the breakfasts were of high quality

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Manse was indeed just that—the former residence of the church rector. Rooms are large with tall ceilings and shuttered windows overlooking the gardens. It’s a 5-minute walk to the town centre. The owner was very gracious and helpful.

My upper floor room had two twin beds, a sofa, a large wardrobe and assorted end tables. There was an old television but the reception was not very good. The kettle tray included some absolutely wonderful locally- made shortbreads. The very modern ensuite bathroom had lots of hot water and a great shower. Outside the room was a large upper foyer that offered books and magazines for reading.

Except for the bit uncomfortable bed—a narrow twin that was a bit convex—I really enjoyed my stay the The Manse.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at 2 Dundas twice now and can't say enough good things about it. The hosts, Ruth and Edgar are warm and welcoming and the breakfasts (and coffee!) are delicious! We stayed in the Library room both times - love the space, the view and the clawfoot tub! And the b&b is very conveniently located steps away from the cathedral and town! Hope to have the opportunity to stay there again soon...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
271 reviews
12.2 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2 Dundas Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2 Dundas Crescent

Property: 2 Dundas Crescent
Address: 2 Dundas Crescent, Kirkwall KW15 1JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
2 Dundas Crescent Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing