We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hihellocaroline
United Kingdom
Unforgettable dining experience
Review of The Storehouse
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Oct 2023via mobile
Had an unforgettable meal here to celebrate our birthdays. We ordered starters and mains, along with some drinks after. We ordered the smoked haddock scotch egg and fried cheese to start, and scallops and lamb for main. Everything was cooked fresh using local ingredients, portion sizes decent and presented beautifully. Tasted incredible. The cocktails were also really good, and I especially enjoyed the dessert wine afterwards.
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Booking.com
£150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Agoda.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
    £150
0.2 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£238
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • Hotels.com
    £167
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£161
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    £161
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £161
0.6 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£241
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £184
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room 6
Booking.com
£112
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £112
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
    £160
  • Tripadvisor
    £160
0.1 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Front Entrance
Booking.com
£74
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Hotels.com
    £74
0.7 miles from The Storehouse
Free parking
Booking.com
£130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £130
  • eDreams
    £130
0.9 miles from The Storehouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£248
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £248
0.8 miles from The Storehouse
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
44
6
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
44
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops fresh milk fabulous hotel lovely evening the ground floor stayed nights judith comfort trio accommodation meal orkney gins harbour luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2023

Had an excellent dinner here. Really lovely ambiance and decor impressive.
I had the fish & chips which was delicious. My friend had the chicken and enjoyed that too. We both ordered dessert meringue which was yummy. Would definitely eat here again.

Room tip: Book in advance.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheherizad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

The rooms are excellent- nice decor , fully equipped, extremely comfortable bed and modern bathrooms , and all immaculately maintained. Worth the slightly more expensive tag.
We also had dinner and breakfast - the food was also good and tasty. The only slight negative would be that the food was a liitle slow to arrive.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Fantastic meal with excellent service. The food was really top drawer, one of the best meals we’ve had out in Orkney for a while.
The sticky toffee pudding with rum and raisin ice cream was delightful.

Room tip: Very busy on a Saturday night so best to book
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Finian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023

Came to Orkney to celebrate my 50th birthday. Graduated from medical
School 27 years ago- this is when I first came to Orkney. Fabulous place. Was advised to book into the Storehouse by a NHS colleague but have to say I was a tad disappointed. Booking the restaurant was easy, but when we arrived the welcome was somewhat stifled. I ordered the mussels for starter- they were absolutely fabulous. Unfortunately I tried to gain the waitress’ attention to order some bread for the sauce and a spoon, but was ignored. The bread should have been included but was omitted (they did in fairness minus £4 off my bill). I ordered the monk fish for my main- lovely cuisine but small portions and a bit miserly with the veg. We decided to carry on regardless and ordered an extra bottle of wine to celebrate. Waitress was quite robotic in manner and was more bothered about making sure we ordered a dessert, which we did. The cheeseboard was a complete disappointment- miserly pieces of cheese with 6 crackers and some onion chutney.
I don’t want to be unkind. The atmosphere was fine and the place has great potential. Just think the management needs a bit of an overhaul regarding their interpretation of what the clientele expect and deserve for the prices they’re charging. So I’ve given the place a 3 out of 5, hoping it improves by the next time I visit these lovely islands.

Room tip: Lovely location but much better places nearby if you look for them
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carrsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

We are here 2 nights while staying in Kirkwall, the food is outstanding. Think the best steak I have ever eaten. And the biggest glass of Sherry I have been served in a restaurant. What not to like.
Staff very hospitable and friendly.
Impressive building with great atmosphere

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ishbelc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews