We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class b and b near Kirkwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardconnel B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardconnel B&B
Ranked #3 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A first class b and b near Kirkwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a modern bungalow, with big bedrooms. Ours had three beds in it even though we had asked for a double. There is plenty of room in the bedrooms to stretch out in the evenings if you want to watch television etc. There were two arm chairs in our room. Massive bathroom with a wet wall shower. Everything as very clean, and we had a warm welcome from John and Margaret, the owners. Very long list of things available at breakfast time, all cooked freshly to your order. John was very helpful with local advice and suggestion. Really could not be beaten, and at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a wider view of the countryside. Ask for a sea view if that is what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimEileenGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
50
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a very comfortable and welcoming stay here. The breakfasts were very good, the rooms comfortable and the hosts very hospitable and friendly. All four children fitted easily into one spacious and comfortable bedroom! I loved the locally produced soaps and shampoos provided in the bathrooms.Thank you very much for treating us all so kindly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthBell-Pellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

John was beyond hospitable and accommodating: he picked us up at 11 PM from the ferry terminal and took us into town the next day and even showed us around to help orient us in the town. He was very friendly and fun to talk to. The room was very very nice, spacious, cozy and well-decorated. The bathroom was rather big for Scotland and the Orkney soaps they use smelled divine! The breakfast was very filling and scrumptious, not to mention that it featured a lovely view of Kirkwall and some wildlife. All in all, we had a great stay here and would highly recommend Ardconnel B&B to other travelers, solo or family alike.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The friendly owners at Ardconnel were kind enough to put us up at very short notice. Their B&B is a short (2-minute-ish) drive out of Kirkwall in the St Ola area (lots of fresh air and fields, and is a homely, modern place with lots of parking. Every modern comfort in the bedrooms including nice touches like an iPod player. We paid £60 for a double room. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamapenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Orkney for a day trip and decided to stay overnight. The tourist information centre in Kirkwall booked us in at this bed and breakfast and what a great stay we had. Lovely room, so clean and spacious. Lovely breakfast and very friendly and warm people. We would definitely recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Spectacular location (close to conveniences of Kirkwall yet quiet, rural location overlooking the harbor)! Nicely appointed home with personal touches. Breakfast was made to order and at a scheduled time. Owners John and Margaret were very friendly and extremely helpful with planning our time in the Orkney Islands!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtmlkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Ardconnel is a modern bungalow just outside of Kirkwall on Orkney mainland. It looks out over the sea and the town. The rooms are large and comfortable with an excellent en-suite shower room. Breakfast is plentiful and the hosts are friendly and welcoming. I'll defiitely stay there on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house so that you can enjoy the view from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
11.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardconnel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardconnel B&B

Property: Ardconnel B&B
Address: Ardconnel Craigiefield Road | Kirkwall, Orkney Islands, Kirkwall KW15 1UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardconnel is a friendly family run B & B which has been recently awarded a 4 Star rating with Visit Scotland. This is a large comfortable modern home where all bedrooms are en-suite. Ardconnel is situated in a quiet country location with beautiful views of Kirkwall Bay,the West Mainland and the Orkney North Isles. From Ardconnel it is approx a 20 min walk to Kirkwall town centre. There is car parking available and a shed for bicycles.freeview is available in rooms with Sky TV in lounge. We. Use locally sourced produce wherever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardconnel B&B Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing