We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Daniel
Leeds, United Kingdom

Top Class Kirkwall Accomodation

Review of Ardconnel B&B
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2022
Such a wonderful experience all round! Very homely and welcoming with the most friendly and welcoming host that you can relate to and easily talk to as we had very long conversations together.

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic - made to order. The location is not too far out from town and I would highly recommend a stay here!
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.5 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
aerial view
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £189
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £164
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £238
  • Vio.com
0.9 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
239
8
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
239
8
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome excellent breakfast bed and breakfast lovely view cooked breakfast yogurt each morning biscuits a lovely stay orkney islands theresa host harbour bedroom toiletries ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2022

I was recently in Orkney for a business trip with a colleague for a business trip. The owner could not have been more accommodating! No task was too big. Very generous room ( we had doubles booked but had a room each). Each room was very well presented, tidy and all necessity's were available.
Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice.
The owner even allowed our colleagues who were staying at a different hotel to have breakfast here.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywQ5312DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2022

We were here for 3 nights in September during a motorcycle trip to Orkney and could not have chosen better. This B&B is simply one of the best we have stayed at. Theresa gave us a very warm welcome and the room was spotless and very comfortable - my partner particularly liked all the Orkney tweed embellishments. Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of options for vegetarians. Theresa also gave lots of information on locations to visit and places to eat. She was right when she said to make bookings for dinner (we didn't heed her advice one night and couldn't get a table anywhere!). The house is around a mile from the centre of Kirkwall but it's a nice walk there and back. More than happy to recommend this B&B and look forward too returning one day.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simonp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2021

Proprietor, Theresa was the perfect host, extremely welcoming and provided a superb choice for breakfast. Ardconnel B&B is situated in a quiet location minutes from Kirkwall Town Centre with open views of Scapa Flow and the Harbour with ample car parking. Extremely comfortable, well appointed and fully compliant with all the necessary COVID protocols. Would definitely recommend this B&B to all visitors.

Room tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jimmclayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2021

A relaxed and friendly welcome and real hospitality from our host which went above and beyond anything we could have expected. A great room, clean and very comfortable with a sweeping view towards Kirkwall harbour. A great breakfast - we especially loved the yogurt and fresh raspberries and blueberries. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 912nedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2021

It would be hard to find anywhere better to stay in Kirkwall! The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp white linen and fluffy towels. The rooms were immaculate and spacious with everything that you could possibly want, including a Tunnock wafer every day! Breakfast was delicious , local produce served fresh and hot. Theresa kept an eye on what was happening locally and informed us when bad weather affected things we wanted to do, she also checked on the opening hours of a restaurant she knew we wanted to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davisoba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews