We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Elizabeth P
Bo'ness, United Kingdom

Excellent one week stay in Orkney

Review of Ardconnel B&B
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jun 2022
My husband and I spent a week in Orkney (4/6/22-11/6/22) and stayed in this excellent B+B. I can’t rate it highly enough. The decor was tasteful and the room was well equipped and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good- plenty of choice and beautifully presented.
Teresa ( owner) was very friendly and a great source of information.
You can’t go wrong if you stay here.
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Booking.com
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £129
  • Agoda.com
    £126
  • Expedia.com
    £137
1.0 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£238
  • Expedia.com
    £179
  • Hotels.com
    £173
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Booking.com
£137
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £150
  • Expedia.com
    £154
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£143
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Tripadvisor
    £143
1.3 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£252
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £186
  • Vio.com
0.9 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
    £160
  • Tripadvisor
    £160
0.9 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£112
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £112
1.5 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£118
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £118
0.8 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£81
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Hotels.com
    £81
1.6 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
239
8
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
239
8
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome excellent breakfast bed and breakfast lovely view cooked breakfast yogurt each morning biscuits a lovely stay orkney islands theresa host harbour bedroom toiletries ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

Stayed here with friends on a visit to the Orkneys. It was fabulous. Lovely clean spacious room. Tea making facility with biscuits each morning. Lovely en-suite with toiletries. Fabulous breakfast and very friendly host. Thank you

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 835ginnyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2022 via mobile

Located within walking distance from the center of Kirkwall, surrounded by beautiful country fields and nature. Would watch the cows and hares running around the adjoining fields.
Rooms were spacious comfortable and lovely to stay in. Breakfast was hearty and customizable to personal preferences. And very tasty as well.
A very welcoming warm personal atmosphere. The hostess was very generous and helpful and we really enjoyed talking with her during our stay.
Don't miss this place.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JoelKfarSaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2022

Such a wonderful experience all round! Very homely and welcoming with the most friendly and welcoming host that you can relate to and easily talk to as we had very long conversations together.

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic - made to order. The location is not too far out from town and I would highly recommend a stay here!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank harris0nd92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2022

I was recently in Orkney for a business trip with a colleague for a business trip. The owner could not have been more accommodating! No task was too big. Very generous room ( we had doubles booked but had a room each). Each room was very well presented, tidy and all necessity's were available.
Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice.
The owner even allowed our colleagues who were staying at a different hotel to have breakfast here.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywQ5312DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2022

We were here for 3 nights in September during a motorcycle trip to Orkney and could not have chosen better. This B&B is simply one of the best we have stayed at. Theresa gave us a very warm welcome and the room was spotless and very comfortable - my partner particularly liked all the Orkney tweed embellishments. Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of options for vegetarians. Theresa also gave lots of information on locations to visit and places to eat. She was right when she said to make bookings for dinner (we didn't heed her advice one night and couldn't get a table anywhere!). The house is around a mile from the centre of Kirkwall but it's a nice walk there and back. More than happy to recommend this B&B and look forward too returning one day.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simonp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews