We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fabienne c

A very nice and tasteful B&B

Review of Ardconnel B&B
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 May 2023via mobile
A very nice B&B. Tasteful decoration. Very warm welcome by an attentionate owner. Nice views and peaceful location. Ideal to go hiking and visiting the Orkney islands. The owner will give you lots of good tips for dining or waiting for your ferry…
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
£190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £190
  • Hotels.com
    £175
  • Vio.com
    £182
1.0 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
£184
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £169
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
    £182
1.4 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£148
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £148
  • Hotels.com
    £148
  • Agoda.com
    £148
1.3 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£160
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
    £160
  • Vio.com
    £160
0.9 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£255
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £220
  • Agoda.com
    £203
  • Vio.com
    £220
0.9 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £165
  • ZenHotels.com
    £165
  • Tripadvisor
    £165
1.2 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6
£112
  • Agoda.com
    £112
  • Vio.com
    £112
  • eDreams
    £112
1.5 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
£134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • Priceline
    £134
  • Hotels.com
    £134
1.6 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Ardconnel B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£250
Fully refundable
    6.7 miles from Ardconnel B&B
    View more hotels in Kirkwall
    Reviews (252)
    Filter reviews
    252 results
    Traveller rating
    239
    8
    4
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    239
    8
    4
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews warm welcome excellent breakfast bed and breakfast lovely view cooked breakfast yogurt each morning biscuits a lovely stay orkney islands theresa host harbour bedroom toiletries ferry
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 252 reviews
    Reviewed 8 April 2023

    Absolutely lovely! Host is super kind and chatty. Rooms were really lovely and comfortable and breakfast was the best we had on our trip. We were really sad to be staying only the one night but will recommend to friends.

    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Grace C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 November 2022

    I arrived later in the evening in the cold rain. My room was cozy and comfortable - I slept well. The bedroom and dining area were very clean. The breakfast was great - I had the ability to "order" what I wanted to eat the night before when I arrived.
    I was traveling solo and really enjoyed my stay! If I have the opportunity to come back to Kirkwall, I would stay there again.

    Date of stay: October 2022
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank kbassindale
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 September 2022

    Our room at this bed and breakfast was very comfortable with a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. Hostess was friendly and very welcoming. We had an excellent breakfast with a great choice of fruit, cereal, yogurt and cooked breakfast.
    Highly recommend and we will return!

    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Carrieanne012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 August 2022 via mobile

    Such a lovely stay! Our hostess, Theresa, is a helpful gal who cooks up a terrific breakfast. Our room was tastefully decorated & featured many Orkney details. Situated a mile from Kirkwell harbor among bucolic scenery and big vistas, it can be delightful to walk home after a dinner in town. But you know, there are many B&Bs out there that get a lot of things right, but yet you don't enjoy your time there. I have found that a lot of it has to do with the management. Theresa really has this down pat! She stays on top of all the details. She has great suggestions for your stay, and is a lot of fun to chat with when you come in after a day of adventures. A hostess like her can make all the difference between a regular stay and a special stay!

    Room tip: Be sure and book well in advance as this is a well regarded property. But it's always worth asking to be considered if there are any cancellations.
    Date of stay: August 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank redcayenne
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 July 2022 via mobile

    Theresa was very accommodating. The food was delicious. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The location was quiet and nice. My older son says this is the best bed-and-breakfast he’s ever stayed. The rooms had coffee, tea and biscuits. There were charging stations for electric vehicles.

    The shower water was a bit hard to regulate, but that was a small inconvenience compared to how great the B&B was in general.

    Would absolutely stay here again.

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank hillarych
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews