We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
anniebee-7779
Gympie, Australia

Get the Steak and Orkney Ale pie! You won't regret it

Review of St. Ola Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 May 2023via mobile
We didn't stay here for the accommodation but had lunch today so I just have to rate the Steak and Orkney Ale pie and mash... Absolutely 10/10! And very friendly helpful bar/restaurant staff. The restaurant area is lovely and clean. Thanks so much
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Booking.com
£180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £166
  • Agoda.com
    £156
  • Expedia.com
    £165
0.1 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£238
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £171
  • Expedia.com
    £188
0.0 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
£165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £165
  • Tripadvisor
    £165
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £117
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.1 miles from St. Ola Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
77
74
25
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
74
25
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub grub closing time overlooking the harbour fish and chips short break steak noise meal orkney ferry plumbing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2023

Friendly staff helpfully only had a few drinks and a meal all four of us where amazed at the size of the meals nobody will leave hungry 11 out of 10. If ever on the island again will visit for a meal

Room tip: Might not look the best from the outside can't fault inside
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidR5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Worst hotel ever!!!!

Do not stay here!!!

See photos.

Smelly, dirty, mouldy and unsafe.

Staff unwilling to assist or help find alternative accommodation.

Please don’t book here as you will be very disappointed.

Room tip: Don’t book!!!
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023

Do not go here unless everywhere else is booked up. It has a very vibrant bar on the ground floor and if you stay Friday or Saturday night you can guarantee not to get any sleep until about 5am, if you are lucky.
The rooms are ok, basic but clean but my main reason for a room was to get some sleep and this was not acheived so nothing else would have made the stay any more appealing. I vowed not to stay here again after my first stay 10 years earlier- where the surly receptionist was not interested in my complaint and i moved to another hotel-but this time work booked it and ive told them never to do so again.

Room tip: maybe mid week is quieter, not sure if the staff will be any more friendly/ helpful though. Cheap deals available to islanders otherwise not
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helsbels2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2022

Just had meal in the bar- extremely slow service, never did get plates taken away- had to go to bar to ask for service/sweet menu. Extremely fed up having to wait so long so decided to leave and not have sweet/ coffee, watched guests who came in after us getting served first! Chicken goujons very greasy and chips tasted of oil used to fry fish. Very disappointing as I’d heard the food was usually good. Wouldn’t go back.

Room tip: Never stayed in the hotel- just had a meal in the bar.
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scottish134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2022 via mobile

Called into the hotel bar when on honeymoon as hotel website it was popular with locals. This is definitely NOT the case. Very frosty reception from the locals and a few nasty comments. I set a new record for the quickest pint ever and left to another nearby place. My last totally honest review was deleted

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jasonjP1113UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews