We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble”
Review of 13 Palace Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
13 Palace Road
Ranked #9 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing is too much trouble”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was my first visit to Orkney. A warm welcome, great accommodation, delicious and generous breakfast and very centrally located, including right next to the very impressive cathedral. Nothing is too much trouble. I will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cupar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I travel to Orkney to see a client every couple of months and the first thing I do is call Peter and book in. I arrive off the 11pm ferry and Peter always waits up and welcomes me. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is to die for. Stanley will keep you entertained and normally will show you his collection of bikes and cars!! I often find myself eating breakfast with people from all over the world and Peter looks after all his guests with the same friendly manner.

Room Tip: All good. Room 3 has seperate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAP6W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed three nights with Peter and Gemma and their young boys. They could not have been better hosts (including young Stanley who was being Gordon from the fire department while we were there). My friend and I shared a lovely, bright, room, plenty of space and immaculately clean, tastefully decorated in blues in a sort of casual seashore style. Everything we could ask for was at our fingertips--- tea and biscuits, extra blankets and pillows, comfy beds, good quality bath gel, enough hangers and even a hot water bottle covered in artificial fur. The guest lounge was a lovely space and provided a number of books about Scotland for us to browse. On the first day of our stay we went sight seeing in really harsh weather and Peter and Gemma took our soaking clothing to dry for us and then loaned our friend a better waterproof jacket for the remainder of our stay. Our room looked over St Magnus Cathedral which was quite a bonus. The breakfasts were really excellent and our hosts were most helpful in giving recommendations for sights and meals. All in all an exceptional B &B!

Room Tip: Two rooms are en suite and the third has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Somers, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Peter was a superb host - warm welcome, neat and tidy room, great breakfast each day and as a local had a great store of local knowledge. This was a great start to our 10 week UK holiday. Superb location - easy 5 minute walk to town, and straight over the road from the cathedral.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This B&B is the kind of place people return to, again and again. Peter and Gemma offer a warm welcome, comfortable beds, tastefully appointed rooms and delicious cooked breakfasts that would be hard to beat.

Not only that but the location is ideal - right in town - within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bus station and harbour, and next door to main attractions, the cathedral, the earl's palace and the bishop's palace.

We stayed for two nights, and it was with great reluctance that after clearing our plates of hot poached salmon and copious scrambled eggs, we packed our things for departure.

Our stay was too brief to find time to enjoy the comfortable guest lounge with its impressive collection of books about the islands. If you are curious about the terrifying sporty spectacle that is Ba’, then look no further than the cosy armchair and the DVD selection to enjoy viewing in safety!

Both the house and rooms are scrupulously clean, and the little touches like boxes of tissues, a dainty tin of biscuits, a selection of teas and even shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom, makes you feel really cared for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHoundSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It's difficult to think of anything more to say.....all the other reviewers have said it all. We've stayed here several times over the last few years and would find it hard to imagine staying anywhere else. It's welcoming, comfortable and well located. And the breakfasts are just perfect. When we stay we always go to church at the Peedie Kirk URC just a few yards away....it is refreshingly simple and sensible; so for those who fancy a bit of spiritual uplift after a great breakfast, this is our top tip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Orkney; great location next to St Magnus Cathedral and 5 minutes walk from the harbour, lovely rooms, comfortable beds and superb breakfasts - the best pork sausages anywhere. Peter and his family are lovely and incredibly helpful, he even gave us a lift to the car hire garage as it was more than 10 minutes walk away. My wife and I will definitely be back to Orkney and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deneholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 13 Palace Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 13 Palace Road

Property: 13 Palace Road
Address: 13 Palace Road, Kirkwall KW15 1PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
13 Palace Road Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing