We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Benmora B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benmora B&B
Ranked #4 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent two nights here on our visit to Orkney.
The B&B is in a great location overlooking Kirkwall harbour and within easy walking distance of the town centre. There is good off street parking.
Carolyn was very welcoming. Our twin bedded room was very clean and with comfortable beds. There was a fridge in the room with complimentary water etc. A nice comfortable guest lounge has great views over the harbour.
Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and traditional cooked dishes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Benmora and Carolyn is a very friendly and helpful host.
We would definitely recommend Benmora.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_T2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great choice if you are staying in Kirkwall. A short walk from the town centre with off road parking on site or in the nearby lay-by. Accommodation is spotless . We particularly enjoyed the fabulous shower and the guest sitting room. Delicious cooked breakfast every morning along with cereals, toast, fresh fruit & yogurts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay here and Carolyn made us very welcome and is excellent at running the guest home. Our room overlooking the street was spacious and comfortable and we slept really well. The bathroom has a very large shower area and a powerful shower to wake you up in the morning. Every part is the house is beautifully decorated and meticulously clean. The guest lounge has a beautiful view of the harbour and is a lovely place to relax in.
Breakfasts were superb with delicious fresh fruit and a great cooked meal.
We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanlois333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The B&B is located overlooking the marina at Kirkwall and it’s only 5 or 6 minutes walk to Shore Street - the nearest place to eat out or get a drink. (You can either go along the pavement or cut down some stairs onto the marina pathway - both have street lighting). It therefore benefits from having a view of the town, a quiet location and yet is within easy walking distance of the town centre.

We booked around 6 weeks in advance directly via the internet and our hostess, Carolyn, responded quickly and provided some information about taxis which we requested. Our stay for 2 nights was £140 for a double including breakfast payable on departure (Carolyn doesn’t take debit or credit cards).

Craigies Taxis cost us £11.50 for the 10 minute journey from the airport to the guesthouse. You can also apparently get a service bus from the airport and the driver may drop you a few minutes walk from the guesthouse on request.

We were given a choice of room on arrival - one of the doubles is slightly more spacious but faces the street whilst the room we decided upon had a view over the marina towards the town.

There was loads of storage space with built in wardrobes, a desk with drawers and two bedside cabinets. There is also a small wall mounted television although this cut-out on a random basis the odd occasion we watched it (there’s a guest lounge with a large screen multi-channel television and big old-style comfy chairs and settee to sit and watch programmes if you want so this wasn‘t a big issue). We almost dozed off in there after being out and about during the day! If the programmes aren’t good the view of the harbour is and you can watch the coming and going of various boats.

Tea, coffee and bottled water are provided in the bedroom along with chocolate biscuits. The double bed had a fairly soft mattress which may or may not suit your preference. I had a good sleep on the first night but otherwise we had a disturbed sleep pattern - not noise related so possibly more down to just us or the heat which had built up in the room during the day (it was very mild and sunny at the time).

The ensuite doesn’t have a bath but the shower is a generous size and has very good water pressure so that suited us well. Various branded toiletries are provided in case you forget to bring them.

Everything was very fresh, clean and tidy.

Breakfast, served downstairs in a room overlooking the marina, is pre-selected the previous evening . There is a table for two and one for four so you may end up sharing with other guests depending upon circumstances. There was plenty to fill even the most ravenous of visitors! Carolyn prepares fresh fruit on request, there’s a choice of cereals or porridge (very good) and some hot dishes, for example, scrambled egg with salmon or a full Scottish cooked breakfast if desired. All the food was tasty.

Carolyn is the perfect hostess - friendly yet unobtrusive. Helpful too, we were able to leave our luggage after check-out whilst we walked into town to collect our rental car making matters much simpler for us. We would happily stay again if back in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We again were lucky enough to stay with Carolyn at Benmora B&B on our latest trip to Orkney. The whole place is spotless and in a perfect location, just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Kirkwall. Carolyn is an extremely welcoming host and cannot do enough to help make your stay comfortable and homely. Breakfast was again fantastic, a great choice, available early if required and very fresh and extremely tasty. I cannot recommend Benmora highly enough and will always try to get in when on Orkney.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midlander75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is an excellent base for a stay in Orkney. Easy to find just 200yds from centre of Kirkwall. On site off road parking too.

Carolynn is a lovely warm and friendly host who met us at the door. The B&B accommodation was a big room with a very comfy bed, plenty of space and a first rate shower. Every day she left fresh bottles of water and different chocolate bars by the kettle, mint Club my fave if you want to know. There is a large guest lounge with spectacular views over the harbour with a big TV and plenty of seating if you want to put your feet up and have a beer after a day out.

Breakfast starts with selection of fresh fruits, we had raspberrys and strawberrys, fresh and sweet to go with the other three choices, plus apples and bananas. We had two delicious poached eggs, baked beans, mushrooms and baked tomatoes, they were wonderful.
Lashings of toast and seeming endless tea / coffee too.

Deftnitely the place to stay if you are looking for a top rate B&B in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. I have never stayed in a B&B before as I have always thought it would be odd to stay in someone's home. I have also never got round to putting in a review before on anywhere that I have stayed. However I have changed both of these habits because of the wonderful experience we had here. The house is built over looking Kirkwall harbour and has amazing views from the guest sitting room and the breakfasting room. The rooms are spotlessly clean, large and comfortable. There are lots of extra touches that are so thoughtful and really make you feel you are in a 5 star hotel. Caroline who runs Benmora puts enormous effort into making your stay special. She is very friendly but never bothers you and there are no silly rules. The breakfasts are amazing, there is absoluetly nothing that you could improve on. I would not consider staying anywhere in Orkney other then at Benmora. My only worry about putting in a positive review is that this hidden gem will become completely booked out and we will not be able to get a room in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmora B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmora B&B

Address: Ben Mora Cromwell Road, Kirkwall KW15 1LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benmora B&B Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing