We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central hotel with caring and friendly staff”
Review of The Ayre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ayre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Large comfortable room in the new wing with a view of the waterfront. My special dietary needs of meals that are both vegetarian and gluten free were no problem at this hotel (a big ask at many other hotels on my recent 5 week tour !) Happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank darryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel has a new wing, we stayed in the older rooms - although the decor was dated all the important things were up to standard. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, everything worked (including the free internet), the breakfasts (we stayed 4 nights) were excellent and the service/staff were efficient and helpful. We were too busy eating elsewhere in Kirkwall to try dinners at the hotel and although the reasonably priced menuwas not extensive, from the high quality of the breakfasts (apart from the 'hotplate jug' coffee!), we are confident that we would not have been disappointed. We arrived close to midnight but we were greated warmly and booked in efficiently - throughout our stay the owners and staff were friendly and attentive. No hesitation in recommending this place ...

Room Tip: In the original building, the view overlooking the harbour is nice and it isn't noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Bonsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Comfortable hotel on the sea front. Friendly staff. Early breakfast available if needed. Room was clean and attended to every day. Fixed electric heater warmed it up nicely. Quite a climb to the second floor with baggage.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank farrell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly on business and cannot commend the staff and management enough for their great service and comfortable accomodation.

The rooms in the renovated area of the hotel are clean, spacious and nicely decorated with comfortbale beds and powerful showers. The free WIFI in the hotel is also a bonus and connection speeds are good.

The hotels restaurant serves good quality food and good sized portions. Meals are served with a smile in a relaxed atmosphere and you are not kept waiting for hours. The public bar seems popular with locals and has a warm and friendly atmosphere.

I have stayed in many hotels in northern scotland and the islands and I would rate The Ayre as one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ScotsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were part of an archaeology tour group and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and we were always made to feel welcome.

The food was interesting - chicken stuffed with haggis and a few other new things we tried. Always well cooked and served with a smile. Portions generous. Not a massive choice but what they offer is good wholesome food with some decent wine.

An excellent base for exploring the mainland and off-islands.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Alan186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for seven nights as part of an organised tour which included breakfasts and evening meals at the hotel. Based on our experiences, we had no hesitation in booking the hotel for an even longer stay next year. Our room in the new wing was very clean and comfortable and had a good view over the harbour. Very generous servings of good quality food were served for both breakfast and evening meals. The local Orkney steak was especially good. A particular highlight was the quality of service provided by staff, from management down - always friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bob_and_Margaret_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were travelling with a group of ~24 adults and were scattered around the establishment. Some were in the new section and were quite pleased. We were in the back is what I presume was the original section. Unfortuantly, we were there for a Friday and Saturday night when the club next door was going great guns with the local youth - lots of noise from club-goes and cigarette smoke wafted up by our open windows - other wise, the hotel was lovely!! Morning breakfasts were complete and delicious. Location is close to town centre, and otherwise, quiet! Staff very accomodating too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maude1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
385 reviews
10.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
159 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayre Hotel

Address: Ayre Road, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range: £113 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ayre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ayre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Kirkwall
The Ayre Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing