We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ayre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ayre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
The Stunning Highlands
Level Contributor
274 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,226 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Well we are just back from another great stay at The Ayre Hotel. the hotel is in a great location right on the waterfront in Kirkwall with ample parking, although the town centre, Cathedral etc. are well within walking distance. Once again we were greeted with a big friendly smile and check in was as efficient as ever. We normally stay in the new wing which overlooks the harbour. The room (55 I think it was)) was spotless, spacious, nicely furnished and everything we look for in a comfortable room, with free wi-fi a bonus. The bathroom likewise was spotless, with good quality Scottish complimentary's and a fabulous power shower. I read in an earlier review that someone thought the rooms facing the harbour might be noisy at night (they hadn't stayed in one) but I would like to add that we have stayed in the new wing 6 or 7 times and there has never been any noise at all. The new wing also has a disabled room as well as a lift.
The food is excellent with a huge range of choice, from pub favourites such as Steak and Ale Pie and Chicken and Mushroom Pie (the fillings for both are absolutely fabulous and 100% homemade) as well Fajita's, sweet and sour, curries etc. There is also an emphasis on local food with a great selection of local seafood featuring on the menu including scallops, crab, monkfish, Westray Parton toes, Orkney smoked salmon, haddock etc. The steaks also deserve a special menu, the beef is local and cooked to perfection in fact although I didn't try it I am sure I could have cut the steak with a butter knife it was so tender. The Orkney Real Ale aslo goes down a treat.
Breakfast offers a good selection including scrambled egg (which I like to crumble Grimbister cheese over to make it just perfect) and Orkney smoked salmon to set you up for the day.
So thanks again to Lyall, Wendy and the team for another great stay.....we will definitely be back.
P.S. Whilst exploring Orkney as well as the more well known sights be sure to check out Yesnaby, Marwick Head, Mull Head in Deerness and the Brochs of Birsay and Gurness.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank goanjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    143
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
115
25
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed one night on Orkney and chose the Ayre Hotel based on it's central location and the reviews on here. We were travelling round the North and only contacted the hotel the day before to enquire about availability. We got a very prompt reply by email and an offer of a reduced rate so we booked.
We had a standard double which was well-presented and perfect for one night. We enjoyed a good breakfast and reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel had free wi-fi which was useful. The location was good for exploring Kirkwall and there was free parking.
Only slight niggle was we could hear guests in an adjacent room who had a very early checkout but overall a good experience and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I had a lovely experience of the Orkneys being based in this hotel. My room was large and comfortable, the food was good (although heavy, but I think that's the local style)--and the restaurant and bar had the feeling of a friendly local neighborhood place--and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Well-situated, right on the harbor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Large comfortable room in the new wing with a view of the waterfront. My special dietary needs of meals that are both vegetarian and gluten free were no problem at this hotel (a big ask at many other hotels on my recent 5 week tour !) Happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank darryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel has a new wing, we stayed in the older rooms - although the decor was dated all the important things were up to standard. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, everything worked (including the free internet), the breakfasts (we stayed 4 nights) were excellent and the service/staff were efficient and helpful. We were too busy eating elsewhere in Kirkwall to try dinners at the hotel and although the reasonably priced menuwas not extensive, from the high quality of the breakfasts (apart from the 'hotplate jug' coffee!), we are confident that we would not have been disappointed. We arrived close to midnight but we were greated warmly and booked in efficiently - throughout our stay the owners and staff were friendly and attentive. No hesitation in recommending this place ...

Room Tip: In the original building, the view overlooking the harbour is nice and it isn't noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bonsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Comfortable hotel on the sea front. Friendly staff. Early breakfast available if needed. Room was clean and attended to every day. Fixed electric heater warmed it up nicely. Quite a climb to the second floor with baggage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank farrell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly on business and cannot commend the staff and management enough for their great service and comfortable accomodation.

The rooms in the renovated area of the hotel are clean, spacious and nicely decorated with comfortbale beds and powerful showers. The free WIFI in the hotel is also a bonus and connection speeds are good.

The hotels restaurant serves good quality food and good sized portions. Meals are served with a smile in a relaxed atmosphere and you are not kept waiting for hours. The public bar seems popular with locals and has a warm and friendly atmosphere.

I have stayed in many hotels in northern scotland and the islands and I would rate The Ayre as one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ScotsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayre Hotel

Property: The Ayre Hotel
Address: Ayre Road, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ayre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Ayre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Kirkwall
The Ayre Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing