We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and professional”
Review of The Ayre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ayre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Helpful and professional”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed a week at the Ayre Hotel and found the food excellent, and the staff unfailingly accommodating and helpful. My room looked over the sea and was very comfortable. It is conveniently located to all the museums, transport and the main streets of Kirkwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanBryant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    154
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
124
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived very late and due to an error made by the online booking agent the hotel had reserved two rooms for me, the manager dealt with the issue very professionally and allowed me to call the online agents and try to sort the error, this meant that the hotel lost a booking for one room for the night which during an exceptionally busy period was a real loss to the business, i did appreciate that the manger did not make a huge issue of this fact and i am not sure if i would have reacted as he did, if you are reading you thank you again.

I stayed for only one evening but had driven about 400 miles that day and over slept on the Sunday morning and missed the breakfast time, i did not make any issue of my list breakfast and was exiting the reception on route to find a cafe in the town when the receptionist asked me if she could be of assistance, i replied only if you have access to a cooker two eggs and bacon!! She immediately asked me to hold on whilst she went to speak to the chef and returned 30 seconds later and advised the chef would put a grilled breakfast together for me if i would follow her to the dining room whereupon arrival there she poured me a coffee and an orange juice and reset a table for me, a lovely cooked breakfast arrived 3 minutes later, far beyond the service standard expected, thank you sincerely, sadly such service is scarce in this country but heartening to see the ethos of good service is alive and well at the Ayre hotel, i would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller and would not consider any other alternative whenever i return to Kirkwall, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlanMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just spent nine days at the Ayre Hotel and have enjoyed a first class experience. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff consistently very friendly and helpful. We hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A comfortable hotel, with helpful owners and delightful staff. The Hotel is well situated, being close enough to the centre of Kirkwall, but quiet and plenty of parking. Meals, both breakfast and dinner, were excellent, and used local produce.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the Ayre Hotel twice,and both were excellent,the staff were very friendly and went out of their was to help.The room was looking over the harbour and was very clean,the evening meal was excellent and the staff were very professional,the breakfast was first class,we could not find fault with the Ayre.Orkney is a fantastic place to visit,there is so much to see and do and the Orkney people are the friendliest folk in the world.If you are looking for a fantastic holiday and a fantastic hotel,visit Orkney and stay at the Ayre Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room looking out over the water,the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at the Ayre Hotel for seven nights with breakfast and dinner.
The room in the new section of the hotel was quite modern and comfortable with a good view out over the bay. The meals were good the staff were generally friendly and helpful.
Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner when we arrived the receptionist (which was a quite large male) seemed to come across rude and unwelcoming, our room was fantastic and had a beautiful view out the window and the bed was very comfy. We had a meal in the restaurant later that evening and found the restaurant staff very professional and polite and they always checked up on us to make sure everything was ok, there was a lady in a suit in the restaurant behind the bar think her name was Wendy she was very helpful and very cheery and always spoke whenever we seen her during our stay. When we came to check out the receptionist was very loud and annoying but overall we had a good stay apart from checking in and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
11.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayre Hotel

Property: The Ayre Hotel
Address: Ayre Road, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ayre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ayre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Kirkwall
The Ayre Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing