We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ayre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ayre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Could do much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a mixed experience here. Our room was very acceptable (apart from a shower head so high up that I struggled to rinse shampoo out - just not suited to a short person!). Breakfast is not enticing. If we arrived only 10-15 minutes before last breakfast time, we had consistently dried up, tough bacon, but if we arrived earlier, cooked breakfast delivery became very slow. We ate dinner our first evening and the food was very good. BUT, and this is where it went wrong for us: throughout dinner there were a number of young children playing very loudly with toys (supplied I think by the hotel, as they were lying around the next morning), which made conversation between just two of us difficult. There was a ruby wedding celebration party there that evening and I felt that locals were treated very specially, at the expense of tourists who were paying to sleep and dine there. The band played until well past 1 am and stopped us getting to sleep. Then at 3 am we were woken by the fire alarm (set off by a drunk party guest apparently). I know these things happen, but when I mentioned the noise at reception the next day, I was told that I should have phoned to get a change of room. This is not tempting past midnight... I feel instead that we should have been warned of a big party and offered a change in advance. Also, she agreed with me that music should stop at midnight, but said "the band just would not stop playing"... Surely a hotel can stop a band if they wish to! Perhaps also, a sign in reception next day, apologising for the fire alarm mishap, would have helped. So - it is well located and convenient, but as it was the most expensive of our hotel stays in various Shetland and Orkney island hotels, I felt it could do much better. I think they are trying to be suited to tourists and also to locals, and the balance does not quite work if tourists are paying high prices for less than high quality sleep because they do not wish to upset their party guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    142
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
114
25
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed a week at the Ayre Hotel and found the food excellent, and the staff unfailingly accommodating and helpful. My room looked over the sea and was very comfortable. It is conveniently located to all the museums, transport and the main streets of Kirkwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanBryant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived very late and due to an error made by the online booking agent the hotel had reserved two rooms for me, the manager dealt with the issue very professionally and allowed me to call the online agents and try to sort the error, this meant that the hotel lost a booking for one room for the night which during an exceptionally busy period was a real loss to the business, i did appreciate that the manger did not make a huge issue of this fact and i am not sure if i would have reacted as he did, if you are reading you thank you again.

I stayed for only one evening but had driven about 400 miles that day and over slept on the Sunday morning and missed the breakfast time, i did not make any issue of my list breakfast and was exiting the reception on route to find a cafe in the town when the receptionist asked me if she could be of assistance, i replied only if you have access to a cooker two eggs and bacon!! She immediately asked me to hold on whilst she went to speak to the chef and returned 30 seconds later and advised the chef would put a grilled breakfast together for me if i would follow her to the dining room whereupon arrival there she poured me a coffee and an orange juice and reset a table for me, a lovely cooked breakfast arrived 3 minutes later, far beyond the service standard expected, thank you sincerely, sadly such service is scarce in this country but heartening to see the ethos of good service is alive and well at the Ayre hotel, i would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller and would not consider any other alternative whenever i return to Kirkwall, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlanMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just spent nine days at the Ayre Hotel and have enjoyed a first class experience. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff consistently very friendly and helpful. We hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

A comfortable hotel, with helpful owners and delightful staff. The Hotel is well situated, being close enough to the centre of Kirkwall, but quiet and plenty of parking. Meals, both breakfast and dinner, were excellent, and used local produce.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the Ayre Hotel twice,and both were excellent,the staff were very friendly and went out of their was to help.The room was looking over the harbour and was very clean,the evening meal was excellent and the staff were very professional,the breakfast was first class,we could not find fault with the Ayre.Orkney is a fantastic place to visit,there is so much to see and do and the Orkney people are the friendliest folk in the world.If you are looking for a fantastic holiday and a fantastic hotel,visit Orkney and stay at the Ayre Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room looking out over the water,the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at the Ayre Hotel for seven nights with breakfast and dinner.
The room in the new section of the hotel was quite modern and comfortable with a good view out over the bay. The meals were good the staff were generally friendly and helpful.
Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayre Hotel

Property: The Ayre Hotel
Address: Ayre Road, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ayre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ayre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Kirkwall
The Ayre Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing