We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps it's us!”
Review of The Ayre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ayre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perhaps it's us!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked the Ayre having read the positive reviews and we realise that you can't please everyone but we don't recognise this as the place others are reviewing so favourably.
In it's favour, the hotel is centrally situated for visiting Orkney. It is also clean and not noisy.
The bedrooms have, for the most part, no or restricted views and are smaller than most hotel rooms we stay in. As a comparison we would say that given a choice between the Ayre and a Premier Inn it would be no contest - Premier Inns have larger rooms and bathrooms at approximately half the price.
Breakfast was taken in a soulless "events" room and was adequate. We had the temerity to ask for a pot of tea one morning and were told in no uncertain terms to get our own! So, whilst some of the staff were pleasant, it was not universally the case.
Perhaps we should not have prepaid..........

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    155
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
127
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Viroflay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very well situated close to the kirkwall pier and close the town center.
Hotel renovated
Rooms are clean and some have a beautifull view on the sea
Bathroom are clean and the water is hot (very usefull in this country)....
Breakfeast very good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebDBS16JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My son and I were making a return visit to Kirkwall and booked in to the Ayre.
We decided to eat in the first night and check out the menu.
We were glad we did because the food was excellent.
Notwithstanding the fact that there don't seem to be too many alternatives for dining out that we could see in Kirkwall we would have continued to eat there anyway as I don't think we would have fared better elsewhere.
I see from a recent review that the staff cooked a special breakfast for an early departure, who perhaps caught the same time flight out that we did - despite inquiring there was no specially cooked breakfast for us other than some toast and cereal.

Room Tip: We only slept in one so I can't compare them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierowall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Ayre Hotel was a wonderful place to stay - a clean, bright, modern room with exceptionally friendly staff. We were catching a flight early the next morning so they arranged an early breakfast for us with porridge and scrambled egg with smoked salmon cooked for us just as we arrived. It seems to be all newly updated. The breakfast room was really comfortable with tasteful upholstery.
The staff really cared about our experience - even letting me print out our boarding passes for the flight without a murmur.
The bed was massive. The best night's sleep I could have had. Great room, great staff. Exceptional

Room Tip: The view of the Harbour is exceptional if you can get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theHallofEinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

As the title says, very welcoming folk at the Ayre. It wasn't actually me, it was my husband who stayed there, for work, just for one night. His colleagues had stayed at a neighbouring hotel the last time they were up, and couldn't believe how helpful and accommodating the staff at the Ayre were in comparison. He also found them to be like that, although he didn't have any negative comparisons to make. The food (bar menu) was good but not startling. Breakfast was good. The room was in the new wing and spotless, good size and warm. He slept very well and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Ayre Hotel and would highly recommend it. Fantastic staff, so very helpful and friendly, immaculate room with lovely sea views and great food. Although it is in the centre of town and with other restaurants within easy walk, I chose to eat in each night as the food was so good. Really good that they offer an early cooked breakfast as each morning I was catching ferries to various islands and I would have had to miss out on the food to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel with my wife and 18 year old son for four nights during the mid term break. Our room was spacious clean, tidy and well appointed. The staff were very attentive and were keen to offer suggestions for sightseeing trips. We ate in the restaurant and the food was freshly produced and plentiful as was breakfast in the morning. Our room had a view out over the harbour and was well appointed with plenty of hot water, toiletries and clean towels. The owners are working really hard to make sure that customers needs are met and that their stays are enjoyable and stress free. An enjoyable stay. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Views over the harbour are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
272 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
206 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayre Hotel

Property: The Ayre Hotel
Address: Ayre Road, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ayre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ayre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Kirkwall
The Ayre Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing