We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
£87
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
245
230
72
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
245
230
72
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style sea view lovely hotel next morning business trip stayed one night dining room continental breakfast definitely stay here again nice room porridge salmon steak enjoyed my stay first class high standard harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Ahead of our arrival we emailed this hotel to let them know of our late arrival, off the ferry from Lerwick, and asked them if there were any specific instructions for our late arrival. They didn’t reply! So imagine our amazement when we arrived to find the door to reception locked. There was no door bell and after hammering on the door repeatedly a guest came to the door and said she would fetch someone. No apology from the member of staff who arrived but he did find our key and room number.
Our room was basic and small and the toilet took for ever to refill the tank, two people couldn’t use the bathroom after each other.
Breakfast was adequate and the staff very pleasant but the social distancing measures were almost non existent, so much so that we did not feel comfortable eating there.
The price of the room for what we got was exorbitant. Thank goodness we only stayed the one night.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suma16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parthiv Vyas, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you for your review and sorry that you didn't seem to enjoy your stay.
For the benefit of our future guests reading this, the doors do lock at night and there is a hotel number that you can call if you are stuck and outside and it is displayed on the main door. For the rest of the review, I would let our future guests read some of the other more honest reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

Stayed 3 nites at this central hotel within walking distance of the main street in Kirkwall, really enjoyed my stay.
Rooms, v clean, comfy bed, quiet
Staff, just lovely, and so helpful
Food, excellent breakfast,
menu, changed every evening, varied, offering good selection of local produce, all well cooked + presented.
Would really recommend this lovely local hotel for ur Orkney stay

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parthiv Vyas, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear Pauline H

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Food and service is always challenging and slower than normal with the social distancing and limited capacity but we strive to keep it local, personable and as efficient as possible. Thank you for your understanding during the stay and the team is elated you had a great time here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully located by the harbour and has lovely views. We stayed in the apartments which was modern and well equipped. The hotel is very clean and as you would expect ‘Covid Secure’ with usual safety procedures. We felt safe with staff and patrons following Covid guidelines.

The restaurant serves lovely food and is equally popular with the locals and hotel guests. The staff are attentive and friendly.

We will be back soon.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank nm1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Had Easter Sunday lunch - easy to park at either front or back of hotel. Choice of set menu - 3 courses for £15 or lunch menu option. 3 courses was excellent value & food was very nice. Staff helpful, friendly & efficient. Hotel is following covid restrictions but a little lacking in sanitiser units - had to really look for them. Tables well spaced & sat in the conservatory which gives views into the harbour.
Enjoyed the food & service - didn't give 5 star rating as group of kitchen staff stood smoking directly outside reception door as we left - not impressed

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank U8982CDkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2021 via mobile

My wife and I had to travel to Orkney at short notice to be with my mother who was gravely ill.

After ensuring the reason for our visit complied with Covid regulations, our booking was done quickly and we were booked into one of the apartments in the annexe of the hotel.

Our apartment was well equipped and comfortable and more than adequate for our requirements.

I must single out Ila who was very helpful and friendly and also attended to organising the funeral tea for my mother who passed away during our stay.

I highly recommend the Ayre Hotel. It was a sad reason for our visit but our stay was made easier by having such a comfortable and ideally situated base

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Orkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews