We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Whareareugoing
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania

Nice room OK place.

Review of The Ayre Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jun 2022via mobile
Our room was fairly nice and a good size. The maid didn’t give us a replacement toilet paper and I had to call to get some. Breakfast wasn’t great as far as I was concerned. Why can’t places make some porridge/oatmeal? There were no prunes. There was only Scottish breakfast on a Buffet and very little of anything else. However the bar food was very good. My friend still did not have her suitcase as the airport lost it and the very nice manager took pity on her and washed her things for her
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you for your review
Sorry that you had issues with the regular room amenities replenishment. Incase of extra amenities our reception team is helpful enough and if you required anything even later in the evening, they would have been glad to come and do the needful. A quick call to the reception from your room phone would have resolved everything for you.
However in breakfast we do serve porridge you just have to inform the service personnel as it comes hot and fresh directly from the kitchen. We always go a step ahead to fulfill all food requirements of our guests in the restaurant and we try to give a local Orkney touch on buffet .
If you do happen to come to Orkney again, do drop me a line directly or feel free to call me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £197
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
    £312
  • Trip.com
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
1.2 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
249
231
74
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
231
74
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style sea view lovely hotel next morning business trip stayed one night dining room continental breakfast definitely stay here again nice room porridge salmon steak enjoyed my stay first class high standard harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2022 via mobile

Ate in the restaurant. Really lovely experience. Host/waitress was so accommodating. Dining room is very bright, clean, modern and stylish.

3 of our party are gluten free and the menu is clearly marked, and we had lots of choice.

Food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 603florap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you for your glowing review and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the experience and food in the restaurant.
We are also in the midst of rolling out a program of refurbishments and we hope to make it better and more comfortable soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2022

This hotel is going through a refurbishment. The lounge and dining room was tastefully decorated to a new standard. The food in the hotel was superb. Bar prices very reasonable. The room had a sea view. It was excellent with king size bed and comfortable. Hot water in room was very hot and shower amazing. Staff very friendly.

Room tip: Ask for a sea room view
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well.
We hope you get a chance to return soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022

The hotel is currently being renovated and myself, and my nieces Cassie, Meri and Sophie had lunch in the new dining room. The room is light and modern with much improved lighting and a revamped central island, that looks as if it will serve as the new site for juices and continental breakfast layout area.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadsideshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you for the review and your positive comment.
We are in the process of initiating a rolling program of refurbishments for the Winter that will see a great improvement in all areas of the hotel including the reception, restaurant and bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2022 via mobile

The hotel has recently had the restaurant & conservatory (at the sea front) renovated & decorated. It's very light, airy & welcoming. Went into the conservatory for lunch. You get a view across the harbour. Friendly staff & good menu choice - light bites, salads or bigger mains. Had the Scapa ale battered haddock - super tasty & batter very light. Then coconut cheesecake - super yummy & creamy

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank U8982CDkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parthiv Vyas, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thank you for the review and your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed the new decor and the food.
The Coconut and Lime Cheesecake is turning out to be a huge favourite
We hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

Hotel is in an excellent location. Room clean, but needs freshened up. Shower was like a trickle so not very good.

Restaurant and bar very nice and food good.

Around the corner from the hotel is the Harbour Fish and Chip shop which has something called chilli and garlic chips. I loved these and have never had anything like those before. Would recommend a visit to St Magnus Cathedral as it’s incredible.

Would stay here again due to location.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank THMCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parthiv Vyas, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thank you for your review.
I am surprised to read you have an issue with the room. If you would have had a quick chat with the reception, we would have gladly sorted this out for you.
The St Magnus Cathedral is an incredible structure and the recent sea walls being exposed makes you think of the town history and structure. An excellent example of the jewels of Orkney
We hope you enjoyed Orkney and will take sometime to visit some of the other interesting isles here as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews