We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Neil w
Stockport, United Kingdom

Ayre Hotel, best of Orcadian hospitality

Review of The Ayre Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Aug 2022via mobile
Fantastic 3 night stopover on our tour of Shetland and Orkney, clean, modern, really comfy beds!
The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs, all took time to say” good morning, how are you? Where are you off to today? Did you enjoy your day?”
The Restaurant was very good, the food was excellent! Chicken stuffed with haggis- sublime! Orkney Salmon- beautifully cooked veggies - heaven!
All in all a 10 out of 10 experience! Will we be back? Absolutely!!!!
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review
It was great seeing you having such a good time. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well.
We hope you get a chance to return soon.

Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£198
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £198
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £165
0.3 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £145
0.8 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£160
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.7 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.0 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £301
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
1.2 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £83
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
249
231
74
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
231
74
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style sea view lovely hotel next morning business trip stayed one night dining room continental breakfast definitely stay here again nice room porridge salmon steak enjoyed my stay first class high standard harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2022

Yes, part of the hotel is being refurbished but that doesn't detract from the fabulous welcome from the Assistant Manager, Ila, and her fantastic team - they are a real delight. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. They are amazing.

The food was delicious, especially recommend the kippers for breakfast (order the night before), the scallops and steaks. The restaurant serves really excellent Scottish food.

Some parts of the hotel are a little tired, but that won't be for long. The refubished areas are modern, ligh and airy - especially loved the conservatory

Room tip: A room with a view over the harbour
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ama162606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Dear Ama

Thank you for your review
It was great seeing you having such a good time. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well.
We hope you get a chance to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Ayre Hotel along our 13-day road trip through Scotland. Our room (#20) was nicely appointed with purple accents of which Prince would have approved. The bathroom light / power was turned on by drawstring, which was a bit odd and the toilet had difficulty (um) removing all that was asked of it. Although it wasn’t bad, the bed was a bit hard for our liking.

Although we planned to eat somewhere else, we quickly found that reservations are really necessary in such a small town with limited options like Kirkwall. Regardless, we had dinner at the Ayre Hotel and enjoyed our meal. The haggis was texturally the best we had to date, despite the flavor not being as robust as others. The smoked salmon and crab timbale was very fresh and tasty; however, my wife had some digestive issues the day after. The haddock fish and chips w/ peas was very unremarkable.

Since Highland Park Distillery was unable to accommodate us for a 4pm tour that day, we tasted their 12- and 18-yr whiskies at the restaurant. We enjoyed the 12 better; it had a slight peet essence and some nice approachable character. While the 18 was a bit too smooth and neutral tasting and seemed to lack the complexity of the 12…but I digress…

Overall, the Ayre Hotel was a perfectly adequate place to stay and eat. I might look at other options if I were to return to Kirkwall, but wouldn’t be opposed to staying there again.

Room tip: Try to get an ocean facing room; we had room #20
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelDispatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review
It was great seeing you all down from Washington DC and having such a good time. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well. Your feedback has been shared with the team which always encourages them to perform better.
We hope you get a chance to return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

Our room was fairly nice and a good size. The maid didn’t give us a replacement toilet paper and I had to call to get some. Breakfast wasn’t great as far as I was concerned. Why can’t places make some porridge/oatmeal? There were no prunes. There was only Scottish breakfast on a Buffet and very little of anything else. However the bar food was very good. My friend still did not have her suitcase as the airport lost it and the very nice manager took pity on her and washed her things for her

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you for your review
Sorry that you had issues with the regular room amenities replenishment. Incase of extra amenities our reception team is helpful enough and if you required anything even later in the evening, they would have been glad to come and do the needful. A quick call to the reception from your room phone would have resolved everything for you.
However in breakfast we do serve porridge you just have to inform the service personnel as it comes hot and fresh directly from the kitchen. We always go a step ahead to fulfill all food requirements of our guests in the restaurant and we try to give a local Orkney touch on buffet .
If you do happen to come to Orkney again, do drop me a line directly or feel free to call me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2022 via mobile

Ate in the restaurant. Really lovely experience. Host/waitress was so accommodating. Dining room is very bright, clean, modern and stylish.

3 of our party are gluten free and the menu is clearly marked, and we had lots of choice.

Food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 603florap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you for your glowing review and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the experience and food in the restaurant.
We are also in the midst of rolling out a program of refurbishments and we hope to make it better and more comfortable soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2022

This hotel is going through a refurbishment. The lounge and dining room was tastefully decorated to a new standard. The food in the hotel was superb. Bar prices very reasonable. The room had a sea view. It was excellent with king size bed and comfortable. Hot water in room was very hot and shower amazing. Staff very friendly.

Room tip: Ask for a sea room view
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well.
We hope you get a chance to return soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews