We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£148
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
selkiesave
St. Margaret's Hope, United Kingdom

Satisfactory with a few moans

Review of The Ayre Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2022via mobile
Very comfortable room but the only misgivings that we had were no USB sockets within the room, a toilet cistern that took forever to refill itself and would certainly be beneficial to have a grab rail to use when accessing the shower within the bath..
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review
We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well. Your suggestions always give us more chance to do better.
We hope you get a chance to return soon.

Regards,

Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £213
  • Vio.com
    £192
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£210
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £210
  • Hotels.com
    £210
  • Vio.com
    £210
0.2 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £107
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £164
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Newly refurbished standard twin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    £81
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£118
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £118
0.9 miles from The Ayre Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
249
230
74
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
230
74
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style sea view lovely hotel next morning business trip stayed one night dining room continental breakfast definitely stay here again nice room porridge salmon steak enjoyed my stay first class high standard harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2022

Very friendly helpful staff. Lovely food. Situation perfect right opposite the harbour, wonderful ever changing views. Hot water too hot if anything. Water system had to be learnt. Room very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest.
Your concerns will surely be taken care of. Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2022 via mobile

Family dinner on a Sunday evening. Restaurant has been beautifully refurbished. Food was excellent with a wide choice for everyone and Isla & her staff were super friendly. Highlights were the smoked fish risotto and the sticky toffee pudding. Will be back soon

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank magkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

Popped in this evening after struggling to find somewhere to eat in kirkwall. Although they were busy with bus tour guests they were able to serve us. Steak pie was tasty and great value. Veg cooked to perfection. Sticky toffee pudding with orkney ice cream was great. Staff friendly, service speedy, couldn't fault it!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MoragC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Orcadian for your dinner and we are delighted that you were very well taken care of by our team .
We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

This hotel is a little tired. However, this is more than compensated for by the brilliant staff, especially Isla who seems to work 24 hours a day. We were made so welcome by her and the team in the bar and restaurant. on the night of my birthday, I came down to find they'd dressed the table and provided a cake replete with firework. Food in the restaurant ranges from very good to excellent. Drinks in the bar weren't over-expensive. I had a front room with a view over the harbour - lovely to wake up and see the ferries going in and out. Woud definitely return

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank lavender35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Dear Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well.
We hope you get a chance to return soon .

Regards

Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night stopover on our tour of Shetland and Orkney, clean, modern, really comfy beds!
The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs, all took time to say” good morning, how are you? Where are you off to today? Did you enjoy your day?”
The Restaurant was very good, the food was excellent! Chicken stuffed with haggis- sublime! Orkney Salmon- beautifully cooked veggies - heaven!
All in all a 10 out of 10 experience! Will we be back? Absolutely!!!!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank neilwZ2176VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review
It was great seeing you having such a good time. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and food. We take great pride in our hospitality and we are pleased to hear that our guests have been looked after well.
We hope you get a chance to return soon.

Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews