We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
£90
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£84
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
245
230
73
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
245
230
73
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style sea view lovely hotel next morning business trip stayed one night dining room continental breakfast definitely stay here again nice room porridge salmon steak enjoyed my stay first class high standard harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2023

I had a business meal with colleagues where our menu choices were preordered. The food was delicious and the service was good. I would definitely recommend the Ayre Hotel for group bookings. I’ve eaten here previously with friends and was equally impressed.

Room tip: Popular so book in advance
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kierfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We greatly appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear about your satisfactory experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2023

This was our 2nd stay at the Ayre Hotel in kirkwall,

We stayed 4 nights in a room overlooking Kirkwall bay which was very well-proportioned, impeccably clean and very comfortable.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on 2 separate evenings and the food was some of the best we enjoyed on the whole of our trip with friendly, attentive & efficient service. The breakfast from the buffet had a nice selection and the cooked selection was of a good quality and well cooked, service again at breakfast was efficiently run by friendly and helpful staff.

The Hotel is currently going through some refurbishment, thought this did not impact our stay, the refurbished areas were bright, modern and airy.

We look forward to returning and seeing it all finished!

Room tip: Get a sea view room
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidGreens12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We greatly appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear about your satisfactory experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2023

Not happy with a hot stuffy room, tried to phone but not working as we arrived in the afternoon we tried to get a reservation for dinner, but after walking downstairs, we’re told they were full and the earliest was eight o clock.
Shower screen broken at the bottom unable to repair till after 6 o’clock as the handy man was not in to look at it. No one to look at the phone either , unable to open the one window to let fresh air in.

On the first night I thought they were under staffed, on the second day different staff they managed to at least open the window, phone still not working but at least he looked at it.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mal66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Guest,

I want to sincerely apologize for the distressing experience you had during your stay.I assure you that we take this matter very seriously and same has been briefed to the team as well.
Please be informed that our restaurant is one of the popular restaurants in the town because of our food and service so it is always advisable to book a table at the time of check in which our team always checks with the guest .
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2023

Chose the Ayre as the location for a meal with colleagues visiting the island. The unanimous verdict was a big thumbs up for the food and 5 empty plates! Friendly, pleasant and professional service from the young staff team - an all-round enjoyable evening.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We greatly appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear about your satisfactory experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

Great location in Kirkwall and apartment unit was very large. Could use more and thicker towels. Coffee supplies were great. Apartments do not have view of the ocean but are spacious. Can walk to town center, restaurants and shops. Clean and neat.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nitin Gupta, General Manager at The Ayre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We greatly appreciate your kind words with suggestions and are delighted to hear about your satisfactory experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Nitin Gupta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews