We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are coach parties second class citizens?”
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Are coach parties second class citizens?”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a visit to the Orkney and Shetland Isles. The room was spacious but faced over the kitchen roofs. The extraction fans came on at 6.00 and were very noisy until 9.00 at night. Because it was hot we had the windows open and this rather spoiled our beauty sleep. The food was plentiful but we were forced to sit at tables of 8 -10 which made it feel like school dinners - we had to order our evening meal at breakfast which made it feel like a hospital. The first morning my friend and I chose a table in the window and were moved which was very embarrassing and not particularly friendly. Skippers Bar was noisy and fun and the staff made us very welcome although ladies are certainly outnumbered in there. There is a lovely, spacious reading room on the first floor with a small book exchange which is very useful for avid readers like myself. Kirkwall is fairly noisy at night but I managed to fall asleep easily. The bathroom and toiletries were very pleasant. Overall I really enjoyed my stay apart from feeling like a second class citizen at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a QUIET room or one with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValerieEBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hi ValerieEBirimingham

Thanks for your review,due to the age of our hotel we have had to adapt with improvements over the years so unfortunately from your room(with the window open)you may hear a slight ventilation noise, we have the best systems in place to reduce it and limit the time as much as possible as to when it is on,but without this for health and safety reasons our kitchen would not be able to operate, and as you say you did fall asleep easily in our comfortable beds. We don't ever" force" our guests to sit anywhere but we do have to be well organised to cook and serve for large groups and everyone else all these arrangements would have be made with your tour prior to your visit. It is really important to us that our guests are ALL made to feel welcome so it disappoints me that you did not and sincere apologies for that,we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
Gemeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    123
    67
    40
    22
See reviews for
44
128
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a coach tour of Orkney and Shetland. We had a great room - spacious with a lovely view of the harbour. We arrived at 11.00 at night and the staff were incredibly efficient at sorting our luggage and booking us in. We ate in the restaurant on the second night and the food was fine - reasonable portions well cooked and served efficiently. No easy task when you are dealing with 40+ people in one go. Breakfast was also OK with a reasonable choice of buffet/cooked food. Would happily go again as independent travellers.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffordfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hi staffordfatboy

Thanks for your review,we are pleased you found our late check in service efficient,and you and your large group enjoyed our food,cooked to order breakfasts and our service,we happily look forward to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We weren't expecting great things when we arrived at the hotel looking for a meal. We hadn't booked,and we were dressed for walking in boots and waterproofs. However we were treated with courtesy and cordiality by all of the staff, and our meals were delicious (fish and chips for my husband, excellent gammon for me).
Shortly after we started our meal, a huge group of pre-booked diners arrived and were immediately served. Knowing that a big order was coming in, it could have been so easy for the hotel to turn us away claiming they were too busy, but to their credit, they didn't.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harassedmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Hi harassedmothee,

Thanks for your kind review,we are delighted you had a good time with us,we are a busy 3 star hotel, our restaurant and our Skippers Bar are both very popular with locals and tourists,we do get heavily booked up well in advance however we do our best to accomodate everyone for whom we aim to offer quality locally sourced food with something to suit all tastes and a genuine warm welcome, regardless of your attire! glad you enjoyed our locally sourced fish and gammon,as a convience for our customers we also serve meals all day every day,(sometimes a welcome retreat from the weather!) hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A small party of nine of us stayed at this hotel over a period of four days. The single room I occupied was very comfortable with all the amenities and an easily understood shower (some require an engineering degree!). The food was very good and the menu had plenty of choice. Situated in the centre with easy access to the shops. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were always anxious to please. As a bonus our party enjoyed champagne compliments of the hotel on our final night so we must have created a good impression!

Room Tip: Cannot find anything to advise against
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Hi Geoff B

Thanks for your nice review,we are pleased you and your group enjoyed all our facilities within our centrally located hotel by the harbourl,the good food from our bountiful menu and our helpful staff who are indeed eager to serve and assit our guests,glad you enjoyed the champange!

Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We chose this place as it was good value and in the perfect spot for us to use as a base for touring the islands over two full days.
Great food, and fine selection of beers and whiskeys.
Proper breakfast for large lads like us!!
Staff very friendly.

Parking for the bikes was across the road in a public area, but there were no problems with this.

As a base it was perfect and allowed us to take in a good portion of the main island.
I would strongly recommend a visit to the isles be on your "bucket list" what a fascinating place it is.

Room Tip: You might want a view over the harbour, but suspect these might be in demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Hi Kaybe_1200

Thanks for your kind review,we are indeed ideally located to explore kirkwall, our beautiful island and beyond to the north isles,glad you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfasts made from locally sourced produce,yes we too would recommend that it should be on everyones "bucket list!" but we would be delighted to see you again!

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at the Kirkwall Hotel for 5 nights in June 13. The first night, we found our second floor room was a little noisy from the room above. We requested a change of room and we were cheerfully moved to a third floor room where we slept well in the warm comfortable bed for the remainder of our stay. The radiator in the room worked well but there was no heater in the bathroom which was fine in June but may be chilly at other times.
The rooms have been redecorated and are comfortable, but the plumbing on the third floor was a little quirky.
The staff were delightful, cheery and helpful at all times. The restaurant was excellent and we ate there most nights. The food was unfailingly good, service excellent and the menu offered a very good range of choice. The cheesecake is heavenly.
I would definitely return to the Kirkwall to enjoy another great stay. The rooms with harbour views are wonderful and it was great to watch the ships coming and going.

Room Tip: Try a harbour view room, plenty to see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Hi Janice M

Thank you for a great review,we are so very happy that you have enjoyed our 3 star family run hotel from our newly refurbished bedrooms with stunning sea views,our quality local food our "cheery",service AND of course our FUDGE CHEESECAKE!,which has been a permanent feature on our menus for 18 years! our lovely staff will really appreciate your comments,and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mcean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a family meal out for fourteen. The service was excellent from the service at the bar to the restaurant aervice and the quality of food really good. We preordered our meals which worked really well. Our meals were good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Drakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Hi Drakewell

Thank you for your great review,we are delighted that you all had such a good time,it would be our pleasure for you to consider us to assist you with your next event.

Best Wishes
Amanda Mclean
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
12.2 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Property: Kirkwall Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing