We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
infoking
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It sits in the middle of the city of Kirkwall overlooking the harbour which is always busy with the comings and goings of the ferries to the islands and fishermen going about their trade.

The building is imposing and a pleasant red sandstone. The welcome was efficient and they had all the details correct and the receptionist provided useful information. The room was recently refurbished and a very comfortable bed and chairs and a fantastic view of the harbour. The bathroom was pleasant and the shower good. Tea and coffee making equipment and good blackouts but the walls were borderline too thin but not a problem.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was very good with smooth friendly service and the place was packed which shows that local people use it, not too many visitors at this time of year. Prawn cocktail was excellent and the baked Orkney cheese starter was brilliant. The crab and macoroni was not to be missed as was stuffed chicken. All very good and friendly and a wine list that was well thought out and good value, we had a bottle of Chardonnay.

Breakfast was really well done, competent trained staff and well overseen by the manager.

Slight downside was the noise from the takeaway outside but this stopped early.

Check out was efficient and i would definitely go back. The hotel is ideal for visiting the islands generally, it is close to the north island ferries and also for visiting Kirkwall itself. The cathedral is worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    128
    69
    42
    22
See reviews for
46
131
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

stopped for lunch, had not booked but no problem to find us a table for five, food was delicious, hot tasty, menu varied and not too expensive, excellent lunch would def go back again, staff friendly, efficient and service was very quick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue11073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for reviewing our restaurant we are delighted you found us to be excellent and I hope we can welcome you again soon,perhaps you may also enjoy a meal in our Skippers Bar.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

First let me say, if you are staying on Orkney, then this is the hotel to stay at. We stayed for two nights and found the staff, helpful, efficient, smart and service was to an excellent standard. Our room was a premier room with a harbour view and the beds were very comfortable.

We expected to eat out, but as we found shortly after arrival, it is essential to book into the dining room to be sure of a place! This on a mid week night is surely a good sign.We were not let down. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, with more than enough food, which for a restaurant of this standard is very good. The menu was very reasonably priced for food of this quality

Overall, our stay at this hotel could not have been better and we would certainly choose to stay here again should we revisit Orkney..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you we are all pleased you have enjoyed our hospitality and taken the time to post a positive review our team will be encouraged by your comments as am I sure will other customers.

Many Thanks
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Kirkwall Hotel enjoys the best harbour views in town however if you are looking for a five star experience don't expect to find it here however the hotel doesn't pretend to offer that experience anyway. We stayed for three days and enjoyed varying levels of service - breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were higher than average hotel grade meals depending on who served you, generally the waitresses were great however a couple of the waiters were a bit gruff. Our first introduction though front of house staff was initially surly however that improved over the period of our stay. Our room on the third floor was a steep climb when the lift didn't work which was frequently depending on whether someone had forgot to close both doors. However the biggest disappointment was the water pressure and temperatures - several showers were spent trying to find something close to warm and beyond a trickle and the final day for both of us involved giving up on a shower altogether and making do with a cold flannel wash. Despite the negative aspects of our experience I would recommend the Kirkwall Hotel overall as a fine old style hotel without pretension and offering a reliable experience in a great location.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SiberianHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review,absolutely correct that we are a 3 star hotel! and we take great pride in that and all that we offer, apologies for the problem with your shower. Disappointing for us that you didn't inform us about the quality of your shower while you were here,we would have our maintenance straight on to it and possibly moved you to another room on a lower floor if that would have been more convenient for you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and should you choose to stay with us again please contact myself or Debbie by email so we can personally see to your booking.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Myself and my children spent 1 night at the hotel and a very friendly check in and I was happy with our room. Kids loved the lift !!!

A very good evening meal and good service by all of the staff on duty.

Unfortunately breakfast proved not to be such a good experience with despite ordering 6 tables were served after our order and we had to chase our food as we had a ferry to catch.

What was unacceptable was seeing one table being cleared by the waitress by her hands only and re set.

I think the morning team were overrun to be fair and I will stay again as I think you can do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us,not sure what you mean about the re-set table by hands? breakfast service can be hectic as most people are always in a rush! our well trained team always do their to deliver prompt service however we sincerely apologise that you feel you did not,please get in touch with myself or Debbie (proprietor) by email prior to your next visit we would be delighted to show you how great our service actually is.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkwall hotels

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Hotel is dated and tired looking, which could have been compensated by good service, clean bedroom and en-suite. Regrettably this was not the case. We did not make a complaint in the morning as we were delayed by poor service in the dining room at breakfast, and had to catch the ferry to Sanday, (although our comments were left in our room).
We must say however that the evening meal was of a high standard and thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea-view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EAS108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi
We pride ourselves on being a traditional privately owned three star hotel,and we usually exceed guests expectations so we are very disappointed that you had some issues and yet chose not to mention them when here especially you say regarding the cleanliness? its impossible for us to make an assessment after the fact,although we did action your guest comment card it was the assistant head housekeeper that inspected your room prior to hand back to reception,please be assured we have a dedicated hard working meticulous housekeeping team who take great pride in the standards of their work. We are continually upgrading and improving all areas of the hotel every winter,
Thanks for mentioning you had a great meal in our busy restaurant.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Kirkwall on the late ferry from Lerwick and stayed just one night at the Kirkwall Hotel as it was too late to travel to our B&B. we have stayed there before and we were not disappointed! It is an 'old-fashioned' hotel - this is meant kindly! Our room was comfortable and our breakfast outstanding!!! Highly recommended

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylocket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for a lovely review,we are delighted that you enjoy our traditional 3 star hotel it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Mangaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
305 reviews
11.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Property: Kirkwall Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing