We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and perfectly located”
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and perfectly located”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The rooms are small, the beds are small, the bathrooms are small, but everything is clean. The location is what makes this hotel a great place to stay in Kirkwall. If you go for a room with a view of the harbor, expect to be woken by the sounds of noisy gulls and drunken locals. I thought it was worth it! The shower is a little awkward to get into, but it's clean and it does the job. There is parking in front of the hotel, but not enough for the number of guests. There is a bar and restaurant, both very good. However, staff has made it quite clear that priority for both of these is the locals and not the hotel guests. They wouldn't take dinner reservations. The restaurant is fabulous and not at all expensive. If you order anything from the bar other than a beer or a whiskey, be prepared to tell the bartender how to make it. But staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyGirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you,all our customers are of great value to us,locals and tourists,we can only take the amount of bookings for the restaurant that we a are capable of cooking and serving for efficiently we try to accommodate as many others as we can,we do get very booked up so we recommend booking well ahead to guarantee a table on our full menu.Our bar staff perhaps misunderstood terminology of the way you ordered your drinks but it was easily rectified.We are a town centre harbour front hotel and so this comes with all the associated noises! sorry if the seagulls disturbed your sleep! Delighted you found our restaurant to be fabulous and our staff friendly.

Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    130
    72
    44
    22
See reviews for
46
137
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We found the Kirkwall (21/7) has kept up the high standard it is famous for. Fine meal served by well mannered staff. The half portion idea keeps the cost down and allows room for a sweet! Although there was a very large tour bus party eating, the staff still treated the individual and couples customers to a high standard. The WiFi was available to use throughout our time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for a great review,we are delighted you chose to return and found us keeping our high standards,we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel has to be the friendliest, most helpful place we have ever stayed! Do not be mislead by the 1st impression. The rooms are comfortable and well serviced; the Staff and Owner could not be more obliging, in all areas, Front Desk; Restaurant and Housekeeping.
The food is very good, and the service speedy, despite the fact that the Restaurant and Bar are very busy at all times of the day. Lots of the locals eat here, which is always a good sign. The food was much better than the previous place we had stayed in Orkney, which had. cost more as well.
An added bonus for us was that although we had to check out of our room in the morning, our ferry was not until 11.45pm! However, we were offered the use of a very pleasant lounge on the 1st floor, where they even brought us some tea when we ordered it!
Altogether an excellent experience. We will stay there again if we return to Orkney

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Harbour; even if the weather is grotty, you can watch all the activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for the 5 stars! its so encouraging for us all when a customer really "gets" the hotel we are a 3 star privately owned family run business and we all take great pride in all everuthing we offer under the 124 year old roof! of The Kirkwall Hotel,it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again some day.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

O.k. I'll admit it; this hotel saw it's prime some decades ago, and it is a bit down in the heels, but we sill love it and we will stay there again on our next visit. Amazing location--was the city really built around the hotel? and a great view over the harbor. The staff is very helpful. Quirky 19th century elevator (adds to the charm). We think the restaurant is the best place to eat in Kirkwall; they have an amazingly extensive menu and the place is obviously a favorite with the locals. They were eager to help with food allergies. We stayed a week and had planned to eat in various places, but ended up in the hotel restaurant most nights and we were never disappointed.

We were concerned about parking, but every day for a week we were lucky enough to find a spot exactly in front of the hotel. There is also a free public car park about 100 yards away, just across the street. Of course, once in the hotel, you won't need (or want) your car to get anywhere in Kirkwall, but for other sites on the island you will need a car.

Room Tip: Maybe all the rooms overlook the harbor, but it's worth getting one that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you we look forward to welcome you back to The Kirkwall Hotel,and we are delighted you enjoyed our food so much.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A bog-standard highland hotel in a prime position overlooking the harbour basin with an eccentric lift,. BUT we had a room to rival any. More cupboards and drawers than we could use and the restaurant just hummed with contented activity. There was the surprise. With a full house every night for supper and a satisfying variety on the menu the chef was still prepared to cook specials. I asked for a steak without the Bordeaux sauce and with mashed potatoes. Fine. "Would I prefer some other sauce?" the waiter asked. No running back to the kitchen to ask could the odd fellow be accommodated. He then suggested a couple. I chose whisky and pepper. The other surprise was the prices. We ate there (and there is actually nowhere else anyhow) on five out of six nights. For two the bills came to £32, £26, £28, £36 and £51 (when we asked for Lobster thermidore) and plus £5.10 each night for a lager and lime and a glass of house white.

Room Tip: Room 217. LArge Double aspect. Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review,our head chef will always try to accommodate special requests in our busy restaurant,delighted that you found us to be good value,and that you had a pleasant stay in our bit more than standard 3 star hotel! We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved the location of the Kirkwall hotel. We could spend hours sitting at the window watching life at the harbour.
The hotel appears a little tired but to us this had a charm about it.
The room was a good size, quiet, extremely clean with a very comfortable bed. Furniture in room is Ikea style and Wifi connection is at times not good. Some of the windows were not clear.
The staff was always friendly and the food (breakfast & dinner) was delicious. When staying make sure you have at least 1 dinner here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Wow many thanks for your great review,our furniture is a mix from a professional hotel
furnishing company and a local supplier.we are delighted you enjoyed our fresh local food and our cooked to order breakfasts.

Kind regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had an overnight stay here.the hotel is nicely located on the harbour-side and has a reasonable Restaurant. But for the price it is a little basic and in need of some updating of the rooms.
The staff were helpful and polite but our restaurant reservation was lost between the reception and the dining room, not a problem for this stay but could have been a problem at busier times.

Room Tip: You pay £20 more for harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
249 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
314 reviews
12.2 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Property: Kirkwall Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing