We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice we could've made!”
Review of Straigona B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Straigona B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay on our trip to Orkney. Julie and Mike run a beautiful B&B where everything they do is geared towards their guests to make you feel welcome and comfortable. There's an air of relaxed friendliness as soon as you arrive. As first-timers to the islands, we were bowled over by Julie's knowledge about places to see and her kindness in ringing around for information and to book things on our behalf. Each morning they made wonderfully tasty breakfasts to order; they also made us a delicious picnic lunch for a boat trip which was so plentiful we struggled to finish it all! We were very grateful for the hats and gloves they generously lent us for our boat trip too. Our room was attractive, comfortable and clean, thoughtfully stocked with things you might need away from home. It's somewhere we'll definitely come back to!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Snorkmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review - love the title and glad we could help with ideas and bookings! Hope you do come back and explore a bit more. BRgds Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Straigona B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

A superb B&B in all respects. Julie clearly wants to ensure that her guests get the most out of their stay in Orkney, and was most helpful with pointers on things to do and places to eat. Most wonderfully, she did our laundry! Our room was comfortable, and there was a great variety of breakfast options, with some wonderful home-baked treats to top it off. Just 5 minutes from Kirkwall, Straigona is really well-positioned for exploring the islands. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the great review, hope our pointers made your trip that little bit more special - it's a long way to come! BRgds Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very excellent b & b. Clean, friendly and well appointed. Ideal for the airport or if you need one nights stop when travelling on to the other islands. Favourite touch was the binocular box in the hall. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llangynoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the review and glad you thought the binocular box was a good idea! Hope the rest of your trip went well and maybe see you again in the future. BRgds Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is like coming home when we are welcomed back to Straigona by Julie and Mike. The rooms are always so comfortable and well-equipped - very welcome after our two tiring flights from the south of England. And so handy for the airport. As soon as we were refreshed we went out for a walk - turn right and walk towards Tankerness, admire the scenery and listen to the birds. A superb breakfast in the morning, starting with fruit salad, then eggs any way you want them with a wide choice of accompaniments, toast and tea or coffee - all set for the day and a perfect start to yet another great holiday in Orkney. Thanks a million Julie - we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Always nice to see you back. It does show that no matter how many times you come to Orkney there is always more to see. BRgds Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this lovely b and b, it was a great experience. Julie and Mike could not have been more helpful; the house was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, nice bedroom and en suite; great breakfast choice with home baking, preserves and fresh fruit salad. Five minutes from Kirkwall and the airport two minutes. Nothing was too much trouble; they rang the airport to see if the café was open when we left, little things like that make all the difference.
Highly recommended - would we go back? - for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to meet you both and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just been awarded 3* GOLD and some of that is based on independant reviews received, so thank you, we couldn't have done it without you! BRgds Julie & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful house.
Great view of the airport (hardly any noise...).
VERY friendly hosts :-)
Absolutely DELICIOUS breakfast with a HUGE variety!! Every evening you could tick what you wanted to have the next morning: beans, different eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, kippers, black pudding, FRESH (!) fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals, coffee, teas, and, and, and...!
Absolutely recommendable!!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Benmilsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you, it was lovely to have you stay and Lenny was such a sweetie! I hope you'll come back and see us again to visit your sister. Your review has helped us to achieve 3* GOLD rating so thank you for taking the time to leave your great comments. BRgds Julie & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Julie and Mike were superb hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. Room lovely and great breakfasts. Location perfect for our requirements and only five minutes for Kirkwall. We highly recommended this B&B
Alister & Brenda

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alister b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words, hopefully next time you visit you will get a bit more of a rest! BRgds Julie & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straigona B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straigona B&B

Address: Tankerness | Tankerness, Kirkwall KW17 2QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straigona B&B is ideally situated 5 miles from Kirkwall and close to the airport, enjoying stunning views over Inganess Bay and the island of Shapinsay. All rooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, TV with Freeview and DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, toiletries, bath robes, individually thermostatically controlled radiators, shaver point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Straigona B&B Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing