We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful 6 days on Orkney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Straigona B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Straigona B&B
Ranked #2 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful 6 days on Orkney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Julie and Mike were such wonderful hosts... a clean,quiet and comfortable room, fantastic breakfasts, and so helpful with bookings and washing. We felt thoroughly spoilt on our first trip to Orkney and would have no hesitation in recommending Straigona B&B to any one thinking of visiting the island. Thankyou Julie and Mike for helping make our visit so memorable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review as I know you are still travelling! Glad you enjoyed staying with us, it was great to meet you and do hope the rest of your trip goes well. BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
126
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

First time we visited Orkney and Straigona were 1½ year ago. The treatment we then met were so good that we this year decided to go back again.
The treatment even this time was so nice, the room was further improved and the breakfast was really good with Julies all fantastic homemade marmelads.
We can really recommend Straigona if you want to have a nice and quiet stay.

Room Tip: Skaill have a nice double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. It was so nice to see you both again and we really enjoyed cooking for you again. Hope you'll manage to fit in another visit to us in the future. BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay on our trip to Orkney. Julie and Mike run a beautiful B&B where everything they do is geared towards their guests to make you feel welcome and comfortable. There's an air of relaxed friendliness as soon as you arrive. As first-timers to the islands, we were bowled over by Julie's knowledge about places to see and her kindness in ringing around for information and to book things on our behalf. Each morning they made wonderfully tasty breakfasts to order; they also made us a delicious picnic lunch for a boat trip which was so plentiful we struggled to finish it all! We were very grateful for the hats and gloves they generously lent us for our boat trip too. Our room was attractive, comfortable and clean, thoughtfully stocked with things you might need away from home. It's somewhere we'll definitely come back to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Snorkmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review - love the title and glad we could help with ideas and bookings! Hope you do come back and explore a bit more. BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A superb B&B in all respects. Julie clearly wants to ensure that her guests get the most out of their stay in Orkney, and was most helpful with pointers on things to do and places to eat. Most wonderfully, she did our laundry! Our room was comfortable, and there was a great variety of breakfast options, with some wonderful home-baked treats to top it off. Just 5 minutes from Kirkwall, Straigona is really well-positioned for exploring the islands. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the great review, hope our pointers made your trip that little bit more special - it's a long way to come! BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very excellent b & b. Clean, friendly and well appointed. Ideal for the airport or if you need one nights stop when travelling on to the other islands. Favourite touch was the binocular box in the hall. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank llangynoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the review and glad you thought the binocular box was a good idea! Hope the rest of your trip went well and maybe see you again in the future. BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is like coming home when we are welcomed back to Straigona by Julie and Mike. The rooms are always so comfortable and well-equipped - very welcome after our two tiring flights from the south of England. And so handy for the airport. As soon as we were refreshed we went out for a walk - turn right and walk towards Tankerness, admire the scenery and listen to the birds. A superb breakfast in the morning, starting with fruit salad, then eggs any way you want them with a wide choice of accompaniments, toast and tea or coffee - all set for the day and a perfect start to yet another great holiday in Orkney. Thanks a million Julie - we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Always nice to see you back. It does show that no matter how many times you come to Orkney there is always more to see. BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this lovely b and b, it was a great experience. Julie and Mike could not have been more helpful; the house was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, nice bedroom and en suite; great breakfast choice with home baking, preserves and fresh fruit salad. Five minutes from Kirkwall and the airport two minutes. Nothing was too much trouble; they rang the airport to see if the café was open when we left, little things like that make all the difference.
Highly recommended - would we go back? - for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straigonabandb, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to meet you both and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just been awarded 3* GOLD and some of that is based on independant reviews received, so thank you, we couldn't have done it without you! BRgds Julie & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#1 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straigona B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straigona B&B

Property: Straigona B&B
Address: Tankerness | Tankerness, Kirkwall KW17 2QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straigona B&B is ideally situated 5 miles from Kirkwall and close to the airport, enjoying stunning views over Inganess Bay and the island of Shapinsay. All rooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, TV with Freeview and DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, toiletries, bath robes, individually thermostatically controlled radiators, shaver point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Straigona B&B Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing