We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
alongtheroad
Northville, Michigan

Short Walk to Town

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2019
A small room, but clean and cozy, about a 5-10 minute walk to the town center. Great breakfast, but the same both mornings. Rabbie's booked this for us and it was fine. Shortbread in the room was a nice treat.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £148
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room 6
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.1 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £229
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £165
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.3 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £210
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
29
15
3
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
15
3
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2019

inside accommodation is pristine and comfortable. didnt want for anything. great breakfast. good location. 15 minutes stroll over the pond ( no worries - its ok) straight into harbor front. cannot fault this place.

Room tip: can only say as a single traveller I was given a twin room - lovely
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank may19ork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We arrived as part of a group after a long journey. Stacey, daughter of the proprietor, greeted us and indicated room 6, upstairs. Upstairs we found only rooms 1-3. My friend went back down to check with Stacey whether we'd got the room number or location wrong. Stacey snapped at her: "Yes, ok, I made a mistake, but this is not my guest house". As my friend headed back upstairs, shocked, another of our party said they'd prefer to swap with us as room 6 was downstairs and easier for her. A couple of minutes later, Stacey knocked on our door. My friend answered it and Stacey continued arguing with her that it wasn't her property; when my friend said that the initial mistake wasn't a problem at all but the way she had dealt with is was, Stacey kept arguing. I couldn't believe my ears, came out of the bathroom and asked Stacey to stop being rude to my friend. She then asked us to leave. We'd been there five minutes. This really was a shocking experience - the first time either of us has ever been kicked out of a B&B (we're two respectful people in our 30's and 40's). Particularly horrible after a long journey and because Orkney is pretty remote with limited accommodation - we struggled to find alternative accommodation that evening. We have had no apology.

Room tip: See above - avoid!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank orlaalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Gracious hostess, large bathroom with modern fixtures, good-size, well- appointed room, VERY CLEAN, good breakfast, quiet location, 10 minute walk to downtown, convenient to bus stop, large parking lot, great value

Room tip: no 5 was great
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Enrico51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Polrudden is very comfortable and clean. We liked the location because it was quiet yet only ten minutes on footfrom town and restaurants. Linda was very friendly and helpful and we very much enjoyed the breakfast. If we go back to Orkney we will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Car0line1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Room very clean and comfortable and bathroom roomy with lots of hot water.
Good breakfast with lots of choice.
Ample parking and fairly close to the town centre.
Would definitely stay here again if coming to Orkney.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishtraveller-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews