We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ASpeedie
London
Just Right
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2019via mobile
I travelled to Orkney on my own as part of a tour group. The guest house have me a large room and bathroom. It was very good for me. After busy days, I relaxed there in the evening with excellent WiFi. The breakfast was delicious. Recommended
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    £160
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6
Booking.com
£112
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £112
  • ZenHotels.com
    £111
0.2 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£238
  • Hotels.com
    £188
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £178
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£161
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    £161
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    £160
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Booking.com
£74
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £74
0.6 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free parking
Booking.com
£130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £130
  • Vio.com
1.4 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£118
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £118
1.3 miles from Polrudden Guest House
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
29
15
3
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
15
3
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

The Polrudden Guest House is a clean and simple place to stay. It has the basic necessities for a comfortable visit including a hot shower and fast WiFi. The family that owns this guest house are warm and welcoming. Their breakfast is very good and the location is not far from the main shops and restaurants nearby. The walls are thin; however, most of my visit was quiet.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
11  Thank MergirllNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2019

Gracious hostess, very helpful daughter, large bathroom with modern fixtures, good size, very clean, good breakfast, quiet location, 10 minute walk to downtown, great parking, great value. A little listen between the roms.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Speideren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2019

Donna Underwood
3/5
a month ago on Google
This place was booked by AAA travel because it was the only place they were associated that was not an expensive hotel. Front door not clearly marked. We arrived a bit early and wandered around and in the building quite a bit before someone popped out.
We were booked for a double room and the owner insisted we were booked in a twin room. It took quite a few uncomfortable minutes before she agreed to place is in the appropriately booked room. She kept saying she would move other guests but they wouldn't be happy.
Be aware you are given a breakfast selection paper the first day for your whole stay. This is the first of many B&B's that did this. All others have a selection sheet each evening for the next day. We expected same and were told no different here so it created much uncomfort in attempting to let her know our selection when we arrived there after a day of touring. I tried the phone number which would not work. I finally went to the door marked private and knocked at 930 pm until she came down only to be told we couldn't change our selection. After several more uncomfortable minutes, she agreed to add the poriage we wanted to the next morning meal.
The owner simply seemed bothered with any requests made.
The breakfast was good and the young woman that served us was extremely kind and fun to chat with. She even brought us homemade shortbread from her aunt one morning. Her daughter is adorable.
Room and bath was nice with lots of room. No sitting room to relax in like most B&B's. Convenient to the city Central.
We have marked this place off our list of future stays.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2019

A small room, but clean and cozy, about a 5-10 minute walk to the town center. Great breakfast, but the same both mornings. Rabbie's booked this for us and it was fine. Shortbread in the room was a nice treat.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alongtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2019

inside accommodation is pristine and comfortable. didnt want for anything. great breakfast. good location. 15 minutes stroll over the pond ( no worries - its ok) straight into harbor front. cannot fault this place.

Room tip: can only say as a single traveller I was given a twin room - lovely
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank may19ork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews