We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Polrudden”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polrudden Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Reviewed 16 May 2007

I stayed at Polrudden for three nights in April and it was a great experience.

The location is excellent, a short walk from the city centre, but away from any noise. Very peaceful grounds and pleasant garden.

To greet you outside (along with Linda) was a very sweet cream retriever and an equally sweet black kitty! A plus for any traveller missing their own pets. For those with pet allergies, these animals do not enter the guest part of the house, so you have no worries there.

The room sizes were good and the en-suite baths as well. Tea-making and television in the rooms, with access to the internet in the guest lounge. Views from the front are across the water to the ton and from the back, across the garden to a pastured hill.

Breakfast was plentiful and served by Linda with a smile!

All in all an excellent option to a hotel stay and I would hightly recommend Polrudden for anyone wanting clean, friendly and quiet accommodation in Kirkwall!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PerfectJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sasa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
11.8 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polrudden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polrudden Guest House

Address: Pickaquoy Rd., Kirkwall KW15 1UH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polrudden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Polrudden Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing