We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant!”
Review of The Foveran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Foveran
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here wih my mum for four nights and could not fault it. The pictures on this website and really the hotel's website don't do it justice. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are clean and cosy (and by that I don't mean small) and the food fantastic.

The staff were all very friendly and willing to help in whatever way possible. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: Stay for tea, the food is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dippyblondbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was the base for a holiday exploring Orkney.

The food was so good that we ended up eating in the restaurant for 5 nights - there was enough variety on the main menu plus the daily specials to mean we never felt tempted to try elsewhere. The pork belly was the best I have ever eaten, while my wife is still in raptures over the duck she had. We both recommend the scallops and the hot smoked salmon. (Incidentally when the Foveran say they can cope with special diets they mean it - they were able to adjust almost any dish with no difficulty to meet our requirement that one of us not have any milk or milk products in their food). The service during dinner was always good - attentive but not obtrusive. We were not surprised that it was clearly a destination of choice for locals looking for a good meal out.

The way the Foveran works is that diners place their orders in the lounge, and are only shown to their table when the food is ready. If I had to quibble about our stay it would be that the lounge was not really big enough for this to work when they were at their busiest.

Our room was clean, spacious and well appointed.

Breakfast offered an excellent choice (not just the usuals but also eg smoked haddock) cooked to order.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Following recommendations we booked dinner here. The setting and food were excellent however we were surprised that no one offered to take our wet coats as we arrived and there was no friendly greeting. The young waitresses were very attentive and polite however the more mature waitress in charge was rather abrupt. When paying at the end we were not ask if we had enjoyed our meal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A really lovely place to stay: exceptional food, lovely staff and good clean accommodation. Well sited for the complete range of Orkney attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave310551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay at the Foveran Paul and his staff were warm, friendly and courteous. The Foveran is set within amazing and breathtaking scenery and the views from the lounge and restaurant across Scapa Flow are simply stunning and match the quality of the meals and service. Using local ingredients Paul prepares outstanding cuisine to order. From the delicious free range scrambled eggs at breakfast to the Scallops, Mutton, Lamb, Steak etc. in the evening. During our stay the restaurant was full every evening with hotel residents and locals. Obviously the place to be in the Orkneys. Our room in the small hotel was well appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We would recommend the Foveran without a doubt.

Room Tip: we had room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sues52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Small, warm, family run and friendly.

Excellent food prepared by Paul the chef / co-owner. Fillet steak cooked to perfection, I asked for medium rare and thats exactly what I got. So many restaurants these days can't cook a steak to your liking.

Lovely breakfast and helpful friendly staff.

Rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Good location close to Kirkwall and opportunity to eat in the excellent restaurant is real bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
2.6 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
2.7 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foveran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foveran

Address: Foveran Foveran Foveran | St.Ola, Kirkwall KW15 1SF, Scotland (Formerly Foveran Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range: £75 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Foveran 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Foveran, we offer a warm welcome, relaxed dining and eight comfortable en-suite rooms. Set in open countryside with stunning views over historic Scapa Flow, only a few miles from Kirkwall, an ideal base to explore the unspoilt splendour of Orkney. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foveran Hotel Kirkwall
The Foveran Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing