We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
147
24
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
147
24
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant with rooms scallops exquisite food young staff double room island waitress
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2022

My partner and I had a brilliant meal in the restaurant tonight. A nice welcome from the friendly waitresses, relaxed with a drink before taken to our table. All our courses were delicious and no one rushed us it was very relaxing. The waitresses were very attentive and helpful..
Everything and everywhere was super and clean. Certainly worth 10 out of 10.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hblether
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2022 via mobile

What a beautiful setting. Smallish menu but for me that is good thing. Service was hesitant due to two large tables of people but the young staff were SUPER. Quality of the food was excellent and I thought pretty reasonable for what we had. Have read some less than complimentary reviews but I have no complaints.

Room tip: You must must book ahead. This place is busy!
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2021

We will certainly book to stay and the Foveran again. This was our first visit to Orkney; thoroughly enjoyed our stay, only complaint 6 nights was not enough! Lovely comfortable spotlessly clean room with en-suite; lovely decor and furnishing TV and internet. We loved the pictures displayed so much we searched the gallery and bought three to take home. Couldn't fault the accommodation, staff or the meals in the restaurant, food was first class as was the wine.

Room tip: Although our room faced the car park we never heard a car arriving or leaving - fab double glazing :)
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2021

We booked a table for 2 late September 2021. What a treat. Beautiful restaurant and very good food. It is a bit out of the way and in the dark we had a job to find it. If you want an out of the way stay then the reviews rate the rooms as good. If I came back to Kirkwall again, I would definitely think about staying and would book again for an evening meal.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Stayed here for a week in room 1 with a lovely view over scapa flow. Breakfast was amazing along with all the staff, who catered for our every need. Food in the restaurant at night, again excellent quality, with a good range of wines to complement the meals, however the menu is limited. This would not stop us staying there again.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davesuz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews