We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
147
24
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
147
24
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant with rooms scallops exquisite food young staff double room island waitress
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2023 via mobile

The service is always professional and prompt. The setting is wonderful and it’s always warm and cosy with the wood burner. The food is delicious and interesting. The scallops are my favourite! The beef is a popular choice of ours and is always cooked spot on. We just keep coming back here.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rhiannonj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2023

Enjoyed a recent stay at The Foveran. The food is a big winner. A very good menu offering good choices. The presentation was superb and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a double room which was spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here on our next visit back to the island. It deserves its high rating!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Delighted39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2022

My partner and I had a brilliant meal in the restaurant tonight. A nice welcome from the friendly waitresses, relaxed with a drink before taken to our table. All our courses were delicious and no one rushed us it was very relaxing. The waitresses were very attentive and helpful..
Everything and everywhere was super and clean. Certainly worth 10 out of 10.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hblether
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2022 via mobile

What a beautiful setting. Smallish menu but for me that is good thing. Service was hesitant due to two large tables of people but the young staff were SUPER. Quality of the food was excellent and I thought pretty reasonable for what we had. Have read some less than complimentary reviews but I have no complaints.

Room tip: You must must book ahead. This place is busy!
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2021

We will certainly book to stay and the Foveran again. This was our first visit to Orkney; thoroughly enjoyed our stay, only complaint 6 nights was not enough! Lovely comfortable spotlessly clean room with en-suite; lovely decor and furnishing TV and internet. We loved the pictures displayed so much we searched the gallery and bought three to take home. Couldn't fault the accommodation, staff or the meals in the restaurant, food was first class as was the wine.

Room tip: Although our room faced the car park we never heard a car arriving or leaving - fab double glazing :)
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews