We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza and Criss-Cuts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Busters Diner

Busters Diner
Ranked #23 of 35 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pizza and Criss-Cuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Busters...a long time favourite and no trip to Orkney is ever complete without a visit for my sisters and I. Growing up in Orkney this was always the place to go for a birthday meal out or for a pre-cinema meal and is basically the best version of a burger/pizza fastfood in Orkney.

The menu is quite vast and makes you wonder how they can cover so many options, frozen meals and a microwave probably explain some of it but not everything is prepared that way. I tend to always stick with the pizza options and a bowl of Criss-Cuts is a must and definitley a preferable option over chips. The pizzas are cheesy and generous with the toppings. My sister has on occasion got the baguettes with the curry and it is a good portion size and tasty.

Service is generally pretty good but have found they have sometimes forgotten that extra drink order and once we had to get them to make a couple of attempts to get the bill correct.

I'd recommend going here if you have kids and especially for families who its difficult to please various taste buds.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexMacdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Take Away Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We ordered take away pizzas and chips for a large group. Pizza's were very basic with too much cheese! Chips were soggy and no flavour! Not encouraged to sit in now after sampling this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank countrylass91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice steak dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Went here one evening and were welcomed by a lovely man who showed us to a window seat (was quite busy which i always think is a good sign). Ordered a steak with trimmings and enjoyed it. Reasonable pricing - pleasant staff and surroundings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Busters bomb on the star ratings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Food was awful - tortellini tasteless, small portions, everything processed. The environment is tacky and cheap, the service was atrocious - we could hear all of the kitchen conversation, the waiter was talking about me as a third person to the chef right in front of me, i could see the waiters underpants and could smell the toilet handwash from the restaurant. We were hopeful about the dessert off the specials board 'waffles with buterscotch sauce and orkney ice cream.' The waffles were microwaved. Enough said.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eliz3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

One word - wowzers!!
Whilst on holiday, I visited this restaurant 3 times - and thoroughly enjoyed it every time! A warm and welcoming small restaurant, one really feels as if in a world of one's own, if you know what I mean LOL!
The first night, I went for what is obviously the speciality - pizza, yummy! Very groovy. A 14" pizza with three side orders and a jug of any soft drink - lovely. The second night, I chose the chicken goujons which were just heavenly, followed by a chocolate fondue. Mm mm mmmm! Lastly, I had the fajitas - WOW HA HA! Brought over to the table sizzling loudly, it all makes for a rather fabulous meal!
Lots of young staff working here; well trained, extremely polite and friendly - lovely people! B)
Followed one of these nights by going to watch the "Parish Cup" in which we supported "St Ola" - all very exciting! LOL!

Highly, highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mingina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Busters Diner also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to Busters Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing