We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Bothy”

Kirkwall Peedie Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkwall Peedie Hostel
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Ideal little base for exploring Orkney. The Bothy option is a self contained little cottage with private accommodation. Right in on the waters edge at Kirkwall harbour. You would be hard pushed to find anything comparable for the same price. We payed 40 GBP/night Bargain!!!

Doesn't appear to be any problems with onstreet parking.

Room Tip: Finding the Hostel/Bothy - Google maps pinpoint is not entirely accurate. Arriving off the night bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuffstarBrewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a real find. The Peedie Hostel is very clean, warm and well kept. The single room is very comfortable and Julia was very helpful.

The Hostel is very close to the travel centre, town centre, and ferry terminal. Its even 1 bus ride/quick taxi ride from Kirkwall airport.

I would reccomend this to any young professional or couple staying in Orkney!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T1MMY_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed at the Peedie Hostel for a week in August 2012. The place is like a second home, everybody was friendly, Julia, the owner, is a very warm personality, and you feel it. I enjoyed every day of my stay there. The best experience of my hotel stays, and the unique surroundings of the Orkney islands help, too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My fiancée & I stayed here for a night on the way to Stronsay & a night on the way back. We found the owners very helpfull & accommodating. The room we had on both occasions was very clean & warm. The beds (bunks) were surprisingly comfy & the bedding was fresh & lots of pillows. The facilities are brilliant, like a home away from home, the kitchen has everything you might need to cook a proper meal. There's a comfy little sitting room with nice sofas & we felt really at ease being here. The owner & her husband even arranged for us to be picked up by taxi from the ferry port & dropped to airport on the way home.The Peedie really is more than just a hostle & I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: A double bedded room for couples would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathydoyle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed twice at the hostel. It is quite modern and clean and the kitchen is well equipped. The Internet can't be picked up in the rooms which is annoying, and the owner is kind of rude and not very hospitable at all. Also you can hear everything that is going on outside the room, so I was woken up quite a few times.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seaturtle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliastronsay, Owner at Kirkwall Peedie Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you for staying with us twice. The Hostel is a traditional stone building with walls over a metre thick.At the moment 3 of the bedrooms are defeating the efforts of our wi fi router. We are working on this and hope to find a solution soon. On the plus side we now seem to be getting 8mbps in most bedrooms and all the communal areas.
The hostel has a few basic rules which are for the safety and comfort of all guests. If we do have guests who ignore rules it can cause annoyance (such as you unfortunately experienced with noise outside your room). Obviously, on this occasion, we explained these rules too vigorously and for that we offer our sincere apologies. We will take your comments on board and try to do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Myself and my partner spent a week at the Peedie Hostel in Kirkwall. It was our first time holidaying in a hostel. It was brilliant! Absolutely spotlessly clean. A lovely room overlooking the Peedie Sea. I met Julia the owner. A lovely lady. Any time I saw her she was working hard preparing the place for the many folk that came and went. We will certainly be back there next year when we visit Orkney again.
Roy and Diana from Pedrthshire

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrewroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hi all
My brother in law, and good friend, and I stayed in the bothy for a week, whilst on our yearly boys fishing trip! The bothy had all we needed, the beds, mattresses and bedding very all lovely and very welcome after a hard days fishing out on the lochs! The kitchen had all of the gear we needed to cater and cook for three very hungry boys, the slow cooker came in very handy!
the lounge diner area was big enough for us and our fishing gear and the shower was lovely and hot!!! In all the perfect little spot for us, close enough to walk to Tesco, and into town for a cheeky pint! Julia and Chris very absolutely fantastic, very friendly and welcoming! we will be booking for next year as soon as we can! thank you fro having us!!!!!!

Room Tip: The bothy will sleep a family of four!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrtroutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shore
The Shore
#10 of 26 in Kirkwall
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Peedie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Peedie Hostel

Address: Ayre Road | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kirkwall
Price Range: £15 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Peedie Hostel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing