We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Kirkwall Peedie Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkwall Peedie Hostel
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Hoos a separate two bedroom self catering apartment. Had everything you need and well equipped.

Great location, easy to find, off street parking for motorbike and great communications with the owners.

Highly recommend this great value alternative to over priced hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hill-run_bisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Peedie Hostel is well-placed to serve as a base for exploring the Orkney mainland. It’s very clean, with two bathrooms on the upper floor and another on the lower (not including the Bothy or the Hoose), three kitchens (two upstairs, one of which has space to sit and eat, and one down) and an upstairs lounge. Arriving on the late ferry from Aberdeen, the open reception has an envelope with your name on it which included room key, the door code for upstairs access, WiFi password and an envelope for your payment which you place in a post box! It’s very much built on trust, and there are also lockers available for left luggage (they’re bigger than they seem, we took one for two backpacks). There’s plenty of information lying around on things to see and do in Kirkwall and Orkney as a whole. I should also mention it really is good value too. WiFi is a little patchy due to the thick walls, which is admitted, but they do give you advice on the best location in the building to get it!

Location wise it’s perfect – not that Kirkwall is a big place, but it’s less than a 5 minute walk to the bus station, the Orkney Ferries pier and the bars and restaurants on the harbour front and the shops on Bridge Street. If arriving/going to Aberdeen the ferry arrives at Hatston terminal, which is a few miles out of town, but there is a connecting bus (the X10) that will pick you up/drop you off directly outside. Oh, and if you’re wanting to stock up on provisions for a day’s walking etc. Tesco is a short walk away and it’s open till midnight!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were a family of eleven people from ages 14 to 74.
The location was excellent, the premises clean and the beds very comfortable.
We were in Kirkwall on one of the busiest weekends. Some family had never stayed in a hostel and had to get used to bathroom lineups. I strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Patty103_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A really good experience...am keen to return ASAP
Met lovely folks,owners and fellow travellers,all helping to make a great atmosphere .Julias attention to detail and your comfort excellent.I had a single room,the bed far superior to those in many Hotels. Cleanliness and equipment outstanding...
A great place, easy access to boats, shops,buses .Even the weather can't upset you!!
M.Berwick -Upon-Tweed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Ideal little base for exploring Orkney. The Bothy option is a self contained little cottage with private accommodation. Right in on the waters edge at Kirkwall harbour. You would be hard pushed to find anything comparable for the same price. We payed 40 GBP/night Bargain!!!

Doesn't appear to be any problems with onstreet parking.

Room Tip: Finding the Hostel/Bothy - Google maps pinpoint is not entirely accurate. Arriving off the night bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuffstarBrewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a real find. The Peedie Hostel is very clean, warm and well kept. The single room is very comfortable and Julia was very helpful.

The Hostel is very close to the travel centre, town centre, and ferry terminal. Its even 1 bus ride/quick taxi ride from Kirkwall airport.

I would reccomend this to any young professional or couple staying in Orkney!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T1MMY_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed at the Peedie Hostel for a week in August 2012. The place is like a second home, everybody was friendly, Julia, the owner, is a very warm personality, and you feel it. I enjoyed every day of my stay there. The best experience of my hotel stays, and the unique surroundings of the Orkney islands help, too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kirkwall Youth Hostel
Kirkwall Youth Hostel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Peedie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Peedie Hostel

Address: Ayre Road | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kirkwall
Price Range: £15 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Peedie Hostel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing