We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small hotel I've ever used”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West End Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Essex man out & about
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best small hotel I've ever used”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The owners of the West End Hotel, Giffie and Robert and their staff are very pleasant and helpful, giving you that 'nothing is too much trouble' feeling.
The room we stayed in was well furnished, clean and comfortable, with a couple of unusual touches, most welcoming.
The food was of a good standard with a reasonable variety of dishes on offer, and at an affordable price.
The hotel itself is in a good position within the town of Kirkwall, being just at the end of the main shopping street, this in itself leading to the harbour at the opposite end to the hotel, about a 10 minute stroll.
The West End Hotel was recommended to me by friends, and in turn, I would also highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a well priced, relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70smcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    63
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
101
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morayshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This hotel must be one the best if not the best small hotels in Kirkwall and surrounding area. You can be assured of a very warm welcome by the owners Giffie and Robert and their staff are just as pleasant and helpful.
The hotel has been very tastefully decorated and furnished to give it that homely appeal. The rooms are very comfortable and absolutely spotless as is the hotel throughout.
The food is splendid and you have a choice of eating in the comfortable seating area of the lounge bar or in the very attractive dining room.
Breakfast is in the dining room cooked and served by Giffie himself, who i must say knows how to present a really hearty meal for you to start your day on, whatever you may have planned to do.This is just one of the perks you get in staying at a small hotel, where other would you find one of the owners doing this all by himself ?? He is also always available with all sorts of local information for the guests, being a local guy himself.
When you pop into the small cosy friendly bar after a days sight seeing or work if you are there on business you will get a really nice warm welcome from Robert who takes great pride in his tidy and ever so clean surroundings. The other thing that I found most appealing was the ever so friendly welcome that the locals gave you in the bar, and another bonus for me was that that my four legged friend was allowed in there too, it being a dog friendly establishment. There could be no better way to end a pefect day than to have a relaxing drink in good company,with just some nice background music.
No big noisy TV to spoil the friendly atmosphere, absolute bliss!!.
So if you are planning a trip to the beautiful and historic island of Orkney, then contact Giffie or Robert at the West End you will not be disappointed i can assure you. They will make your visit to such a lovely place even more memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My husband and I recently spent a very pleasant three nights in this very charming hotel on the edge of the town of Kirkwall. We were allocated room 9 at the front of the hotel on arrival with check-in being swift and pleasant. Our room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. A hairdryer is supplied. Just one very minor thing I wasn’t too keen on was the height of the bed plus it was a tad too short for my hubby (who’s not excessively tall). However, I won’t dwell on that as it did not spoil our stay and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of wardrobe space. There were tea/coffee making facilities.

The en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower was small but adequate and again spotlessly clean. The cleaning staff accidentally broke a plastic soap dish I had brought with me but they left a note of apology and a replacement dish – what excellent service!

There is parking available outside on the street at the front of the hotel, but there is also a car park at the rear, plus a rear entrance to the hotel, which was very welcome.

We used the bar and the hotel restaurant every night and found the food to be very good – large portions! The staff were very polite and attentive. Samples of what we had to eat are: cheese tartlet, soup, chicken stuffed with black pudding, chilli and drinks – cost approx. £39.00. Pork chops, scampi and chips, fudge cheesecake, bottle of wine and drinks – cost approx. £40.00. Cheese soup (this was just delicious!), salmon salad, scampi and chips plus drinks – cost approx. £38.00. It wasn’t just residents who used the hotel bar and restaurant – it was also busy and popular with local people.

The dining room that is used for breakfast is just lovely. A lot of care has been taken in the decoration in blue and white – again it is spotlessly clean and very bright and airy. The choice for breakfast was more than adequate with one of the owners – Giffie – cooking to order whatever you wanted.

Giffie also took time on our first night to provide an itinerary for our two full days in Orkney and we found his advice invaluable. He can also provide a guide if you wish and nothing is too much trouble.

This is a delightful and quirky hotel with little surprises around every corner – mostly of the teddy bear variety!! I loved it, but I suppose it would not perhaps be to everyone’s taste.

We were given a true Orcadian welcome at this hotel – I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Thank you to all who made our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marlscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This place is gleamingly clean and very well appointed, albeit it's an old building with small rooms. The owners and staff are attentive and excellent in every way and the in-house bar and restaurant are comfortable and provide excellent fare - bettering everything else in town in our opinion. Add this too a plethora of floral arrangements from a lovely private garden and you have a delightful small hotel, which is exactly what it claims to be!

Kirkwall is quiet, except for Saturday night we were told, and relatively expensive too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The West End Hotel is in an 1824 building. This is important: rooms are small. However, the place has been restored with great care at great expense. In fact, our room had too much decor "clutter": teddy bears here and there, a heated towel rack in a very small bathroom -- an "invitation" to being burned perhaps -- all of which added to a claustrophobic feeling. There's no elevator, of course -- it's an old building -- and the stairwell landings were likewise cluttered (e.g., little spinning wheels), and perhaps a little dangerous for getting heavy luggage to one's room. However, the two hosts were very welcoming -- and the location is very convenient: right in Kirkwall's heritage preservation area. The diningroom is quite charming -- more teddy bears, however -- but be aware that there are -- depending on your tastes -- some pretty "challenging" items on the breakfast menu: haggis, blood pudding, a lot of fried stuff, etc. ( The hotel does dinner -- and the same is true of the dinner menu.) Be aware that much "healthier" food is availiable in and around Kirkwall. However, one must keep in mind that the hotel is in Orkney -- and, given the isolation, is a commendable and inviting place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Three great nights in this small but friendly hotel. Set back from the Harbour front means it is quiet even on a Saturday but situated only five minutes walk from the the Catherdral. Excellent staff made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived, I'll single "Giffie" out as an exceptional host who went out of his way to make sure I had all the info I needed for my sightseeing round the Island. Room I had was a Twin with en-suite. Clean and comfortable well decorated and quite spacious. Already planning my next trip to Orkney . Don't know when yet but this will be the hotel I use.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This is such a nice hotel and so different from the norm. It has old-fashioned décor – done very deliberately by the owners – so a very pleasant change from the usual ubiquitous modern boutique hotel style. Our room – room 3 – was very comfortable, with a sofa and large enough for two not to feel cramped. We also had a teddy each which was a lovely note. Hotel is also a popular local so there’s always something going on. The food is excellent – well chosen local produce, cooked properly and delicious. Overall, I’d really recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birthdaytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
305 reviews
11.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 14 Main Street, Kirkwall KW15 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers simple comforts but is still in the top two or three places to stay in Kirkwall. In 1824, it was built just outside Kirkwall by a retired sea captain, and became Orkney’s first hospital in 1845. Today, owners Gifford Leslie and Robert Dawson provide a warm welcome and comfortable guest rooms. Each with a shower-only bathroom. The property has been refurbished in the past few years and it now fresh and inviting. Cost-conscious meals are served in a small restaurant and bar. Fully licensed to sell alcohol, the hotel attracts both locals and visitors. The West End Hotel, in many ways, is the ideal blend of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Kirkwall
Hotel West End
West End Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing