We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but service with a frown”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West End Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Put in the "Captain' suite". Cheap shower (no bath), windows sealed - even thoguh staff claimed they opened. Reception: just short of hostile. Full of repro furniture - v.uncomfortable. Food ok.. Good location for cathedral.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for West End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

This little hotel is a true gem in the lovely town of Kirkwall. The accommodation is very good and the food just splendid. The owners and staff are courteous and friendly and go way beyond what is required of them to ensure that everyone has a great stay. It is most certainly well worth mapping out its location. It is all reasonably priced and we were just thrilled! A return visit is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianggough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We just returnd from four great days in the Orkney Islands and the West End Hotel is the best wee place to stay in Kirkwall.The owners Robert and Giffie are very helpful and the food was very good and plenty of it. The rooms were cumfortable and the staff were very friendly.

Kenny Ann Paterson
Prestwick

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Myself and a friend (both English) stayed in the West End Hotel in July 2010. The whole experience was highy enjoyable and recommended - Giffie is an excellent host!! We chatted for hours, drank lovely whisky with him, and we enjoyed each other's friendly banter (Giffie called us "blowthroughs" and mocked our (lack of) knowledge of whisky; in return, we teased him about his emmm.."old school" (!!) approach to web design (sorry Gifie, had to mention that!) . All in good fun, and we cannot forget to mention that Giffie lent us his van for free to explore the island all day when there were no hire cars available. We cannot recommend this place more highly - please don't stay anywhere else in Kirkwall!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbraddock5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was our first visit to Orkney. Our first impression of the holel when we booked was that the manager was very friendly and keen to meet our needs. This was confirmed and exceeded when we arrived and during our stay.
Good location and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAMILJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is the top ranked place in Kirkwall and I can see why.
The owners are indeed very friendly and helpful which makes such a difference, especially when you're travelling alone.
My single room was just the right size.
The hotel is rather olde worlde in its decor, a little fussy for my taste, but that's just me I suspect.
Free wireless interent always pleases!
Don't think you can go too far wrong with this one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiJohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The main hotels in Kirkwall on the harbourside are associated with local pubs, clubs etc and can be noisy! This hotel, at the opposite end of the town, but still only five minutes from the main attractions, is a haven of hospitality and very restful! The rooms are uniquely and personally furnished, comfortable and Gifford, the host, is always helpful and friendly and willing to help, as are his staff. Restaurant is 'pub style' and the food is hearty and good - and relatively inexpensive. We ate there three times and were not disappointed! Room 2 has a comfortable four poster. A 'labour of love' the hotel has been restored over the last three years - and has plenty of local character!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterUKWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
278 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Address: 14 Main Street, Kirkwall KW15 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range: £91 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers simple comforts but is still in the top two or three places to stay in Kirkwall. In 1824, it was built just outside Kirkwall by a retired sea captain, and became Orkney’s first hospital in 1845. Today, owners Gifford Leslie and Robert Dawson provide a warm welcome and comfortable guest rooms. Each with a shower-only bathroom. The property has been refurbished in the past few years and it now fresh and inviting. Cost-conscious meals are served in a small restaurant and bar. Fully licensed to sell alcohol, the hotel attracts both locals and visitors. The West End Hotel, in many ways, is the ideal blend of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Kirkwall
Hotel West End
West End Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing