We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad place to base yourself while exploring Orkney's Mainland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orkney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orkney Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to base yourself while exploring Orkney's Mainland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I have just spent 3 nights in this hotel and apart from a few niggles, for the price it wasn't too bad a place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food (I only had breakfast there) was delicious and generously portioned. My room was a wee bit small and tired but, as I only needed somewhere to sleep, it was adequate. The lounge bar could do with some attention but, again, it proved adequate. The hotel is ideally based for exploring Kirkwall as it is only a few minutes walk from all the major attractions and the free carpark round the back is useful. If you are going to explore Orkney's Mainland and make the most of all that this fantastic island has to offer, but do not intend to sit in your hotel room and be pampered, then this reasonably priced hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Book early, especially if staying here during the peak periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UbiqueHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    84
    42
    20
    13
See reviews for
29
83
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My boyfriend and I decided it was time to head North in Scotland to see the Orkney Isles and the Orkney Hotel in Kirkwall made our trip that much more enjoyable. The staff were wonderful and very helpful, the owner often there helping out and greeting us and other customers. The food was great! The night we arrived it was a bit later in the evening and we decided to eat in the Royal Bar that is attached to the hotel and the food was above and beyond what we imagined! Breakfast was lovely with a buffet and full Scottish breakfast. They also had plenty of booklets and guides for what to do in Orkney and were incredibly helpful when you had questions about good places to go out and explore. Truly a gem of the isles. Our stay at the Orkney Hotel definitely made us want to come back for more!

Room Tip: rooms 201-211, or that floor rather, looks out on Kirkwall's Cathedral and is quite nice at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Nice old hotel, full of character base on its age, but interior needs updating,bit dark and colors in the bedroom don't coordinate.Staffs were very good. Food is very good.Place is quiet considering it's in the town itself. Clean, just a bit of dusting will do.Internet is free, staff is very good to give us a password to connect to internet but connection is slow, can only connect if you're in the lounge, no connection when you're in the bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gildaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

stayed in room 103 for 5 nights on 9-14 June 2011. Whilst the bed was made daily and tea/coffee replaced, the cabinets did not get a wipe over and tea and coffee spills remained dried from the previous nights. There was toothbrush paste splatter up the back of the ensuite door and the skirting boards were covered in dust. Carpets were not vacumed daily. At breakfast porrige was cold or luke warm on two occasions until we asked for it to be stinking hot. Breakfast was generally inconsistent, one guest would recieve two rashers of bacon the other person one, one day lots of scrambled egg the next day a spoon full? Just no attention to detail. This is very much a 3 star experience and for 105 pounds per night B&B, very expensive, but I guess its a captive market. I would not recomend this hotel. I will say that the photographer employed to take the shots was a professional.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We found this hotel very comfortable and totally suitable for our needs. The staff were very warm and friendly. The food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meals. It is perfectly situated in a quiet area of the town (we heard no noise) near the main shopping area, cathedral, museum and bus station. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms very clean. There isn't a lift but I am sure the staff would help carry any heavy luggage. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Orkney Hotel has excellent, well appointed attractive rooms. The restaurant has superb cuisine and the lounge is a great place to grab a drink and a quick meal. The staff is exceptional , very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Just spent 2 nights here and overall happy with the hotel. Very family friendly(apart from new law not letting kids in bar-not hotels fault) the staff were all friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was spot on. The decor is a bit dated but the rooms were clean and spacious. We have an infant and the cot was brand new

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyfreeth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orkney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orkney Hotel

Property: The Orkney Hotel
Address: 40 Victoria Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Orkney Hotel Kirkwall
The Orkney Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing