We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, poor servic, feeble showers”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orkney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orkney Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food, poor servic, feeble showers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had booked in when the hotel was busy and had requested four rooms and dinner bed and breakfast.
There are two car parking spaces in front of the hotel and getting to the small car park at the back involves doing a significant round trip, then dragging bags down into the hotel. The hotel is located close to the major sights and shops.

There was no one at reception on arrival and the greeting was not very friendly. We had booked for dinner bed and breakfast and wanted to eat early because we had a tired 4 year old with us. We were initially told that this was not possible and that we could not eat until 8:30, luckily the 4 year old made the point for us and it was agreed that we could eat at 6 pm. There was a large dinner party, which came in around 8 pm so, had we gone in at 8:30 we would have been in a larger crowd. This type of unthinking behaviour creates a poor impression. In the event, the food was very good, there was a surprisingly wide wine list although our first choice wine could not be found. Service kind and helpful but over-stretched.

We had requested a mix of double and twin rooms, no attempt was made to ensure that the rooms were appropriately allocated. We were on the second floor, I think that there are 3 floors, there are no lifts. it is a historc hotel but the overall impression was that it was drab in corridors and rooms. We had to swap rooms to meet our needs, I therefore saw the interior of two rooms; bathrooms were poor in both, in one there was a very narrow bath, in which a not very large lady in her 60's nearly became wedged while in room 204 we had the meanest shower that I have seen in a hotel for years - 6 jets of water.It is an Island so water might be in short supply, but if this was a water saving measure, there are better ways of doing it.

Bed, firm but reasonably comfortable, two central bedlights controlled by the same switch.There was some noise as people left the bar later in th night.

Breakfast - local Westray kipper excellent but service chaotic with no one taking over all control.

Overall verdict - good food and OK for one night but for £169 for the night I would have expected better.

Room Tip: Would a room at the back be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Haemtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    84
    42
    20
    13
See reviews for
29
84
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
N.W. England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The food at the Orkney Hotel is absolutely delicious - Chef is really talented as is Mary, when she does her stint in the kitchen! As discerning food lovers we could barely fault any aspect of our meals and opted to eat there every evening - the various fish dishes and the steaks were cooked to perfection!
The room:- as one of is a wheelchair-user we were located in the annex, oposite the main hotel.
The main room was really spacious but what made things near perfect was the bathroom. This was wholly adapted for a disabled person with ample grab rails located in all the correct positions and (a first!) a shower chair!! This was further enhanced by the whole floor being of a non-slip wet room surface. Too often, in our experience, lip-service is paid to hotels having disabled- friendly accommodation and which, even if one is prepared to make compromises, is wholly impracticable!
Unfortunately, we were unable to access the lovely dining room, as there is no lift/stair lift. This was explained to us prior to booking and we were offered room service or meals to be taken in the lounge bar. Whilst this was not ideal it was more than compensated for by the friendly and helpful staff; especially John (a true professional).
We noted a fairly high proportion of wheelchair-users whilst we were in Kirkwall, so perhaps in the future thought may be given to a stair lift - potentially located on the back stairs (near the two bar areas).

Zoe & Paul

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly_zoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Servive really unfriendly and not at all welcoming, had to wait for drinks 20 min, got the wrong drinks, got the wrong food, had to pay for it despite several complaints, absolutely disappointing!!!! Wouldn't recommend it to anyone, the menu on their website as well as their in house menu are not up to date, which you will notice on your plate and on your bill....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank schnoerpsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Wrong wine, wrong food, unfriendly and uncooperative service, guests being accused of lying, internet and in house menu and prices not up to date ( the bill will advise you!!!), most terrible place to have dinner at!!! Any Fish&Chips shop would have been better....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked a table for 2 at the restaurant and it was just the biggest disappointment ever. We got served the wrong wine and they wouldn't take it back, we got served the wrong kind and size of steak and had to pay a redicoulus amount of money for something we did not order, there were 3 waitresses in front of our table arguing about the fact that they had given us an old menu, which we "should have realized", it was the most terrible dinner you could imagine. Absolutely no place to recommend!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with work (July 2012). The hotel is right in the middle of Kirkwall on a narrow street. I think parking is an issue.
The staff were polite, although the waitress in the restaurant seemed to take it personally that we sent back both Mussels (no flesh & almost impossible to open) & the steak (well done, ordered it rare), & the battered fish was soggy & undercooked. There was no apology or offer to deduct it from the bill. Very poor.
The menu promises alot, but is inconsistent in delivery. Don't order the venison burger if you expect to have either a bun or chips with it! First night the food was ok, the second it was verging on the awful - either chef was having a bad day, or it was a different chef!
There is no lift, which was problematic for one of our party who had some mobility problems.
The interior is a bit tired in places, and there is lots of wood panelling which makes the place feel a bit dark & gloomy. Bedroom was reasonably clean, cold, and a bit of a riot of 1980's wallpaper & colours (blue carpet & pink wallpaper- yeuch). Bed was comfy enough. The TV on the very small dressing table obscured both the mirror (made it difficult to get ready) and the kettle. And the big bed posts obscured the tv when your lying in bed.

DON't go in the public bar. It's grim. Really grim.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Our stay was okay seeing as it wasn't my first, second ... but 6th choice. We were given a discounted rate due to our late booking of £89 B&B.

We couldn't find the hotel at first but it's down what looks like a side street. There were two parking spaces right outside which was great.

The room was clean but don't expect spectacular views! We had the room right next to the stairs so it was quite noisy.

The bed is a small squeaky double so my boyfriend's feet were overhanging and we slept shoulder to shoulder. Thankfully the mattress was firm.

The bathroom was a good size and had a bath with shower however there was no pressure so expect a long wait. I couldn't figure out how to work the shower and why there were two shower heads!

The location is good, not far from the pubs and shops. We wandered into the public bar and wish we hadn't so swiftly left after one drink.

Extremely disappointed at breakfast. I sat down however the waitress offered menus to two groups who sat down after me and even took their orders after a few minutes. I didn't bother waiting any longer and left.

The hotel is fine but I won't recommend it to any friends or families. Glad to have moved on to the Orcades Hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nottytotty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orkney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orkney Hotel

Property: The Orkney Hotel
Address: 40 Victoria Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Orkney Hotel Kirkwall
The Orkney Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing