We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and decent hotel”
Review of The Orkney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orkney Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and decent hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is 17th century, so architectural foibles like uneven floors are to be expected

The rooms are clean and comfy, the staff are friendly and the food is out of this world!!!

I'll definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    86
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
30
87
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We cycled to this hotelarriving at about 12.30am having disembarked from the late running Aberdeen ferry. After some discussion we were able to leave our bikes in the bar and had a comfortable night. Breakfast was fine and it was a good place to start our holiday although a little more expensive than we would have expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

every thing is much the same as last time sat down to evening meal. only just after the meal did i find out what had been putting me off my food .... yep wet dog irish wolf hound by the size of itnext time i will eat upstairs in dineing room live and learn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadsideshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Orkney is conveniently located on a narrow street (parking at rear) right in the centre of town only a minute or two from the Bishops' Palace and St Magnus Cathedral. The building is 17th century, but if not for a couple of exposed date-stones you wouldn't know, as the building is completely clad in the dreary grey pebbledash typical of Scotland. The stairwell includes a jumble of framed pictures of mixed quality. Our room was generously sized with a four-poster bed (oddly lacking a canopy) and jacuzzi-style bathtub. The view included a glimpse of the cathedral but was otherwise uninteresting. The food, both at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evening, was generic and uninspired.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Was easy to find from ferry terminal. as we arrived late from the Aberdeen ferry, reception was closed but went to find bartender in the back who was vey friendly and sorted out our key and advised on parking our car. they have a handy parking lot right behind the hotel. Eoom was clean and large although furniture dated and a bit dark. Bathroom was nice with eighties style hot tub as a bath. Breakfast good with timid but kind service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Arrival was excellent, met by pleasant staff and directed to the top floor room. Which was clean and tidy if a bit dated. Had food in the bar on both nights which was excellent, however the bar did have a bit of a funky smell! Breakfast of the 1st morning was a bit of a calamity with no one taking our order for around 10-15 mins, but it was worth the wait.


On the whole an enjoyable stay, and would go back. Excellent location for walking about Kirkwall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubique341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We arrived around 9.30 having spent all day travelling. We did not need dinner on either of our two night stay as we were in Kirkwall for a wedding. The hotel was comfortable, clean and tidy and the staff were very pleasant. The breakfasts were excellent, cooked to order and pleasantly served.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are very large and have a spa bath with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ieml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orkney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orkney Hotel

Property: The Orkney Hotel
Address: 40 Victoria Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a 17th Century hotel where fresh local produce meets friendly Orcadian hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orkney Hotel Kirkwall
The Orkney Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing