We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff nice enough, hotel not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orkney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orkney Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Staff nice enough, hotel not great”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. The room was not great, it had a funny smell and the bedding was well worn and tired. This really put me off. Breakfast was fine and the staff were really friendly. WIFI was poor in the rooms and just generally I felt the hotel could do with a freshen up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    84
    42
    20
    13
See reviews for
29
84
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood park
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The room was a tad tiny but had a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was very clean. The food was for the most part very good with one exception. I had a lamb with risotto dish and the sauce that it was all cooked in over powered the flavor of both the main ingredients. My husband had the venison and really enjoyed it. The hotel itself is very beautiful with a lovely garden. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivomexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

That sums it up..it's a good hotel..nothing special & nothing really bad. There are so many areas where they could do more but the friendly staff, clean rooms & situation of the hotel in central Kirkwall with free parking makes up for some short comings.
Selected in for it's green status....not that you'd really be that aware as a guest.
Our room had a 4 poster bed & fab en-suite bath with very poor shower over...lack of towels & view of staff quarters let it down.
Poor wi-fi but they tell you that in the guest info...it's very old building and they've done what they can.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view & one with a 4 poster as these are largest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just back from staying a night in this hotel.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The room was very comfortable and clean fantastic breakfast and full marks to the young girl who served breakfast this morning.This hotel suited us as it is very central to shops,i would just like to say that the Kirkwall people make you very welcome.
[Thanks to all]

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The tiny Orkney hotel is just NICE. The rooms are small but clean and pleasant, even though the hotel layout is difficult to follow. Staff is hospitable and helpful and food is good, both breakfast and in the bar. The bar has some really nice local single malts. Have a local kipper for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very helpful pleasant staff, food good to middling. The hotel is clean and appointed in a Victorian style. Rooms are quite good, very clean. I was here with work and the major problem was the wifi access linked as well as poor mobile reception due to the castle like walls. It is quite good but does not blow your socks off
Wifi not available in rooms and was not effective in the lounge whilst there

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Although I have stayed a couple of times before I was really looking forward to to my too short a visit this time and it certainly didn't disappoint. The hotel is a former privately owned house and inside is like a rabbit warren,so easy to get lost but great fun trying to find our room! Our room was to die for with a four poster bed and a spa bath. We arrived quite late and the night porter,only a young lad was extremely helpful and had taken our bags up whilst we ate in the dining room.When I asked him directions later on he not only told me but printed off two maps for me without me asking. The car park is a little awkward to find and the steps down from it could be better lit (I had my 81 yr old mother with me) the passage way was also rather dim but once inside the hotel more than made up for it. We had diner in the dining room which was nice but nothing special and breakfast was ok but not much of it but this wouldn't stop me from going back. The location is perfect for exploring Orkney from and only a minutes walk from the cathedral. Would certainly recommend and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
133 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orkney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orkney Hotel

Property: The Orkney Hotel
Address: 40 Victoria Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Orkney Hotel Kirkwall
The Orkney Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing