We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I booked a party of 13 for 4 nights which went very well. The rooms are furnished well and the breakfasts were excellent with a vast range of fresh fruit, huge 'Full Orkney' including the best black pudding I've enjoyed in a long time and lovely kippers and smoked haddock when you feel like a change. The staff are friendly and helpful but service can be slow - maybe because there were so many of us. Excellent ingredients in the dinner but let down by erratic service again. We hired cars and parked them in the public car park. It's free till 9am but put 40p in the night before and you're OK till 10am.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    54
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
50
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Dawn checked us in at the Albert Hotel with ease and all the comforts and courtesy of home. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very newly updated. Lots of hot water and great showers. Spacious two bed room on the second floor that we stayed in. The breakfast room is spacious and wonderful cold and hot breakfast served. Great little bar "The Bothy" for a night cap or evening entertainment at the end of the day. Also a wonderful private resident's lounge for quieter private get together in the hotel. Just superb...thanks for making our stay so great Dawn and staff. Cheers.

Room Tip: choose the second floor and face St Magnus Cathedral...quite a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLakeoftheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The rooms are lovely with very comfortable beds and nicely designed bathrooms. Breakfast was good.Not all rooms have views as the windows are high up in some cases. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Downside - no parking for those who have been adventurous and driven all the way. The reception area is small, there is not a real lounge area , just a couple of sofa's so not ideal if you want to sit ,chat & have a drink. The bar, The Bothy is a noisy pub, not good for those with rooms above.
Good as a B&B

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view but not over 'The Bothy'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeDeeWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We arrived in this hotel after moving from another one so not in the best frame of mind. What a delight! I only wish we had booked this hotel initially. the room was lovely and the bathroom was enough tomake you want to not move outside. A greatnight's sleep in a very comfortable bed. IThe staff were helpful and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginjoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This boutique hotel is great, but what stood out was the friendliness, helpfulness and charm of the staff. We were a large conference group and received every support and individual attention. Ther beds are extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Room direclt above the Bothy Bar exit is maybe a little noisy . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LobsterFiend45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for 5 nights with a friend in Rm 203 - a twin. Very comfortable bed and good bedlinen.
Bedroom well equipped but nowhere to hang coats - a necessity in April!
Bathroom stylish and spacious but could do with hooks for bathrobes etc.
We ate dinner in the hotel every night and had a good choice of menu.
Regarding the noise alluded to by other reviewers - the only noise we had was late on Saturday night at closing time. I live in a village and this noise was not excessive at all in comparison with home.
There is some free parking at the harbour which is only a couple of minutes from the hotel.
I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I concur with the good reviews about the rooms, they are a revelation for the island. My gripe is the main eaterie downstairs ; I ordered crab claws as a starter ( no brainer, Im on Orkney ! ). As the food arrived, I could sense all was not well, pity the waitress wasn't as intuitive as me. I picked one of them up and instantly realised they were frozen. I bit into the claw and verified that it was indeed solid. I alerted the waitress and she apologised and returned them to the kitchen. My "replacement" claws arrived several minutes later and the bite mark in one of them turned me into least favourite customer on the planet ! The poor girl was beside herself and I asked to see the person responsible, but they declined. Poor show.

I would possibly consider staying here again, but as the Kirkwall Hotel along the street has NEVER failed on the food front, I will spare my stomach from the "chef" at the Albert in future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Alfanumeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
11.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Mounthoolie Lane, Kirkwall KW15 1JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#2 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing