We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£174
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
norwaytravler
norway
Super Kirkwall hotel
Review of Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2023
The hotel is super central, and you can walk everywhere from here. It lies next to a bar, and it was a bit noisy when we stayed- but I think it closed at 23.00, so it was ok.
Very nice people who worked there
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£161
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £161
0.7 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £216
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.1 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.0 miles from Albert Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Albert Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
105
87
30
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
87
30
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel bath and shower sunday evening pudding comfy bed very pleasant stay arrived late lamb nice room breakfast was excellent albert orkney harbour sauce ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2023

We visited this hotel for a week in August this year, and had a lovely stay! The hotel is ideally positioned in the centre of Kirkwall, very close to the harbour, and we went on a few coach tours and ferry journeys, which departed from Kirkwall too.

The hotel room was lovely and comfortable, with a varied choice of food for both breakfast and evening meals.

We'd recommend it, and would return.

Room tip: If you're planning to eat here in the evenings, it's worth booking early in the day as the bar and restaurant get busy!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2023

We stayed here with friends (two of them from Scotland) for 3 nights in May 2023. When we arrived in the afternoon, no one was at the reception. A sign said to go to the bar which belongs to the hotel round the corner so we packed our luggage and went there but - oh wonder - the door was open but again nobody there. We waited for some minutes and phoned the hotel's number, we heard it ring but again nobody showed. After about 10 minutes someone came, no excuse, no friendly welcome. We asked if we could have something to drink as we had a long journey but were told this would only be possible at 5 p.m. (it was 4.45 and we stood already in the bar)...Then we were showed the way to our rooms which were ok although rather small for so called luxury rooms. The next morning we had breakfast at 8.30 a.m. - too late as we noticed because the - already very small - buffet was lacking most of the items, hardly any ham, cheese, fruit and 2 (!) boiled eggs (the next day there weren't any at all). 3 of us ordered a full Scottish breakfast which was ok but also rather scarce. The other 3 of us ordered porridge which was good but no question whether we wanted a cooked breakfast afterwards as we are used from every hotel and b&b in Scotland. The waitress didn't say good morning nor bye or anything else (except the woman from Aberdeen who served the last morning, she was very kind). On the morning we left the lady at the reception got us our bills, we payed and left. No 'how did you like your stay', no 'safe journey', no good-bye. This was by far the worst experience we ever made in Scotland (we are here regularly and traveled all around Scotland) and this at a price of 175 GBP per night.

Room tip: Have your breakfast early.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scotty3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2023

Good location in the heart of Kirkwall. The room was updated and well maintained. The hotel room (especially the bathroom) was a bit small for two people. The room size was somewhat typical for Europe. The included breakfast was very good. Breakfast was a la carte. In addition, there was a self serve area for fruit, bread/toast, cereal, coffee, etc. See video on YouTube Channel: nwaynesworld

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nwaynesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2023

The Albert Hotel is nearly impossible to find which is not what you need at the end of a long tiring day. Thw names of the Hotel or the lane on which it is located are not visible while driving nearby.. Despite selecting for a hotel with parking on booking.com only public parking was available.

Room tip: Find it on foot before driving to it.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PCG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2023

Nice room with lots of power outlets, comfy bed and great bathroom. A small thing but something I was very happy with was the bathroom window was set back about two feet leaving a large, flat surface to put all your stuff. There was a nice chair at the foot of the bed in front of the TV in case you wanted to watch before bedtime. The restaurant was very good, I ate there two of the three days I was in Kirkwall. No elevator that I noticed but it's not a tall structure.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews