We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in Kirkwall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karrawa Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We has a most enjoyable stay at the Karrawa Guest House for 3 nights at the end of July. We found the family room (a double and two single beds) to be spacious, light and airy and the beds were extremely comfortable. There was a large adjoining bathroom with a powerful shower. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and Aileen and Albert are lovely hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionak261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your family had a comfortable stay, it means a lot to get such lovely feedback! Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Karrawa house in July after traveling through much of Scotland and rate our there as being one of the best. Our hosts were more than accommodating - for example, helping us have a breakfast before we took the early ferry back to the mainland. But the important thing is that Karrawa Guet House is just an excellent place - with great showers!

We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobKelly950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked our high pressure showers! It was lovely meeting you all. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We left booking a trip to Orkney later than hoped which meant we could only stay at Karrawa for 3 nights. That was the downside. We would loved to have stayed longer. The room was comfortable and very clean. Aileen apologised that it was the smallest of all the rooms, this wasn't a problem for just 2 of us. The hosts are very pleasant with great local knowledge. Some great tips for visits and places to eat.
Excellent breakfast to set you up for a busy day....home made rhubarb jam just like my mum used to make.
We were also spoiled by the great weather which unfortunately I can't attribute to Aileen & Albert.
We will definitely like to stay here again on our next visit to Orkney. It'll be first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and my homemade rhubarb jam! I will have to make a double batch next summer as it is all finished now :) It was lovely meeting you both and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in July with our son.
The room was very nice. Main bed was so big we didn't even need to use fold out bed. The was space to accommodate luggage.
Breakfast was very good too, with plenty to choose from, served in a nice room.

The only thing is location. I guess you can walk to town centre but it might be more than a kilometer away, so with the child we'd rather take the car. Anyway, parking in Kirkwall harbour was free and easy, so it was fine.

Aileen is a lovely host (so is the lady who serves breakfasts) and we would return to Karrawa Guest House again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the room which had a large superking size bed in it.

As for location, we are 1 km from the town centre which is a couple of minutes drive by car or a nice 15 minute walk straight down the road. We are also situated on 2 local bus routes- the town centre bus and airport bus routes, both of which will pick up and drop off guests from right outside our front door.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland and hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes,

Aileen & Albert Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently stayed at The Karrawa Guest House which was a tremendous experience. The house was immaculate as was our bedroom and both had a fresh and clean atmosphere. Aileen and Albert were the perfect hosts and made you feel as though you were very important to them. Albert's breakfasts are something to savour and they had an excellent ordering system for breakfast which was simplistic and effective with your breakfast presented on the table without anyone asking what you ordered. Very efficient service and we thoroughly recommend this as a must stay if requiring accommodation when visiting Kirkwall. Dave & Moira

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you so much for your great comments! We really do appreciate it. We are glad you had such a nice stay and that you found the breakfast service was friendly and efficient. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A realy nice B&B with an awesome breakfast and friendly staff. It was a good choice to stay there on our holidays in kirkwall. Even if its not in the center of kirkwall, its just a few minutes walk to get there. The rooms are clean and tidy and all the atmosphere of the small B&B was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and our freshly cooked breakfasts. We have been trying to create a nice atmosphere by making each guest area homely and welcoming, we are glad you like what we have done so far. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at Karrawa, Albert & Aileen are very helpful and welcoming and the place was spotlessly clean. There was a separate guest entrance which was a bonus as we were returning late from a wedding. Good breakfasts including fresh fruit if ordered. Would stay again if visiting Orkney.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
190 reviews
11.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrawa Guest House

Address: Inganess Road, Kirkwall KW15 1SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karrawa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karrawa Guest House is set in the centre of Kirkwall and within 2.5 miles of the airport and ferry terminal. This family run property offers comfortable, modern en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. Kirkwall town centre is less than a mile away with an easy 15minute walk into town or 2 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Karrawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karrawa Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing