We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumeirah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karrawa Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jumeirah”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A very clean guesthouse...great room with modern en suite shower and toilet facilities. Breakfast was served in a light airy conservatory at the front of the house by an exceptionally friendly lady. There was so much choice, from fruit juice, fresh fruit and cereals to a cooked breakfast, which included black pudding and haggis. Would definitely recommend Karrawa!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Wow, Thank you for such a great review! We really appreciate it, its nice to know we are providing comfortable accommodation with friendly service :) we are glad you enjoyed the locally sourced black pudding & haggis at breakfast! All the best for your move to Spain! Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    36
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
119
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My partner and I stayed 5 nights in July 2013. We had chosen this guesthouse because of the good reviews. We got room 1 which was very clean but very small and we had to practically climb over one another to get past one another. There was only one easy chair which is normal but the alternative was a stool with no back support which when pulled out from under the desk left even less space. We had to perch our netbook on the bed. There was no TV reception in either our room or the sitting room. We had been told this on arrival and given to understand this was because of a temporary local hitch affecting all of Kirkwall but on making enquiries locally we found nowhere else had any such hitch. When we questioned the owner he just shrugged it off as is it weren't important anyway. Not everyone would agree and we certainly would have appreciated keeping up with the news or watching a film of an evening after a strenuous day out.
Breakfast was good in that you got what you had specifically ordered the night before and the main waitress was very cheery but one got the distinct impression that having built up a good name for themselves, the owner and his wife were no longer making the effort. When we rang the bell at reception because we required something, no one came.
Forget about being easy walking distance to town. It's a long way down a hill and we fit but over 65s would not have wanted to tackle the long walk uphill coming back. The owner pointed out the bus stop to us. Enough said. Never going back.

Room Tip: Don't take room 1. Too small. Half of view was onto wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelindia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you found that you got an excellent nights’ sleep and that our Guest House was very clean. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, as we have a young family we find that asking guests to fill out breakfast menus the night before is the most effective and efficient way to serve a tasty breakfast each morning without any delay for guests.

Room 1 is our smallest room and we try and only let it out to guests staying for 1 or 2 nights rather than for longer stays. Unfortunately on this occasion, it was not possible on the duration of your stay. We had 2 parties of guests that were booked in for 10 nights and they were in 2 of our larger rooms with super king beds and bigger en-suite bathrooms. Room 1 is very private and in the quietest part of the Guest House, we have pretty flower boxes outside the window in the summer months. That said, it still has a full size double bed to give guests that are in that room, as good a sleep as possible – And that is our main aim, to provide a quality, comfortable sleep with a delicious breakfast in the morning, which I believe we met as shown in your review.

Our other 4 rooms have a view overlooking our garden, which is undergoing landscaping and planting of new trees/shrubs with our upstairs rooms having a view across the town also. Guests can request one of our larger rooms with a view at the time of booking, we will always try to accommodate this.

As for the TV reception, there were engineers working on the Keelylang Hill mast in Kirkwall and Freeview services were affected as we explained and showed to you on the digitalUK website at the time of your stay. All other digital services e.g. Sky TV were not affected.

We do appreciate your feedback as we are continually trying to make improvements. We apologise if you feel you did not receive a friendly service from myself or my husband. We always answer the guest bell when we are home and feel that we are very approachable and helpful. However, you must understand that we cannot be home at all times and should you have needed us we were only a phone call away as the sign next to the bell at reception clearly says.

As for location, we are 1 km from the town centre which is a couple of minutes drive by car or a nice 15 minute walk straight down the road. We are also situated on 2 local bus routes- the town centre bus and airport bus routes, both of which will pick up and drop off guests from right outside our front door as was explained to you along with the bus timetable which you asked for.

Best Wishes,

Aileen & Albert Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

found the karrawa a lovely place to stay with warm and friendly hosts.enjoyed breakfast ,good choice and cooked perfectly.only a short ten minute walk to the town centre and harbour.very quiet locale and off road parking was a plus

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your brilliant review! We are delighted that you both had a nice stay :) Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This beautiful B&B, and the lovely owners, Aileen and Albert get an A+++ for accommodations, food, atmosphere and hospitality. Not only did they graciously await our arrival by boat from Aberdeen (at nearly midnight!) but when the Northlink Ferry that was to take us back to the mainline was put into dry dock for maintenance problems, Albert became our savior and hero! We were 3 couples with no idea when we would get back to the mainland and considering we were in Scotland for a month with a very full schedule, we were panicked. Albert explored every option and relentlessly pressured the ferry company to take responsibility and get us back. He knew what he was doing and successfully negotiated an option for us on a freighter!! Yes it was an experience we will never forget ---- and we will never forget his kindness and genuine care for us. Thank you so much Albert and Aileen. It was a privilege to stay in your home. Susan & Dave McLeay, Niceville, FL

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SookieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for you're lovely review! We were more than happy to help you out, it was a horrible situation for you all but we got it sorted in the end. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland too :) Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Karrawa Guest House, and would have booked a third night if this were available - but they were booked out. This guest house is beautifully fitted out throughout, modern and clean, with everything of high quality. We had a bright and spacious family room, with a lovely bathroom. Very nice breakfasts, served with a smile.
As we were arriving from Aberdeen on the late ferry (11 p.m.), Aileen kindly booked a taxi to collect us. The distance was a bit further than expected, but not really that far; in the light of morning we realised that we were actually very close to the town of Kirkwall, so we could walk down the hill to the impressive St Magnus Cathedral (past the Bishops and Earls Palace) to find ourselves only a stone's throw from the bus station. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyntum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it :) It was lovely to meet you all and we are so delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We has a most enjoyable stay at the Karrawa Guest House for 3 nights at the end of July. We found the family room (a double and two single beds) to be spacious, light and airy and the beds were extremely comfortable. There was a large adjoining bathroom with a powerful shower. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and Aileen and Albert are lovely hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionak261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your family had a comfortable stay, it means a lot to get such lovely feedback! Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Karrawa house in July after traveling through much of Scotland and rate our there as being one of the best. Our hosts were more than accommodating - for example, helping us have a breakfast before we took the early ferry back to the mainland. But the important thing is that Karrawa Guet House is just an excellent place - with great showers!

We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobKelly950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked our high pressure showers! It was lovely meeting you all. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
250 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
5.4 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrawa Guest House

Property: Karrawa Guest House
Address: Inganess Road, Kirkwall KW15 1SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karrawa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karrawa Guest House is set in the centre of Kirkwall and within 2.5 miles of the airport and ferry terminal. This family run property offers comfortable, modern en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. Kirkwall town centre is less than a mile away with an easy 15minute walk into town or 2 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Karrawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karrawa Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing